Journal logo

9/11 There...

An Honest Account of a Very Long Night...

By Kendall Defoe Published 8 months ago 4 min read
14
The cover of my hometown newspaper (Wednesday, September 12, 2001)

Everyone has their own memories of the day, even those who may barely remember it or only heard about it in passing as a child who was not forced to recall such terror. And I have avoided writing about it because I felt that all that could be said had been said. But I am compelled to look back at it now.

I was teaching overseas. My last class for the day had ended and I was back in a shared house with other teachers sitting in a kitchen watching something that escapes me on the television that was in a separate alcove. I must have been quite tired because I was still wearing my suit and tie and a few others were also just as exhausted at the end of another day. We all just wanted to rest for a moment.

Now, I said that I came home from work, so the events that took place happened there at night, a very different sensation for those of us who did not rise to go to work and see that attack during or just after a commute or fight with rush hour traffic. I and others experienced it as the evening was settling down.

One of the teachers who was new to our place came downstairs holding her cellphone (no smartphones then) and told us to turn on the local news channel. She was from New York – an important detail – and said that there had been “an accident in the city”. When we did turn on the news, the language was in the tongue of our host country, so I could not make out all of the details. I saw the smoke and dust rising from the building (recognized the World Trade Center) and I recognized the word “airplane”. So, as I thought, as did others, it was just a fluke accident; another plane crash that no one could stop.

And then I saw the second plane.

There are moments in your life when you know that people of a future generation will grill you for details and information about what the reaction was from you and others. I only remember sitting on the floor of that space as the kitchen began to fill up with people coming home from other jobs (I barely noticed how quickly the kitchen filled up). And then, when the buildings began to crumble and collapse, one of those teachers said, “It looks like a movie.”

Yes, I thought. It does look like a movie; one of the worst ones I have ever seen; the movie where the good guys cannot possibly beat the bad guys.

That was the moment when I remembered that I had family in Queens, New York and that I would be spending a lot of time on the phone trying to contact them and others. They were all well, including an aunt who worked as a nurse and saw plenty of the damage done.

The rest of night passed with a friend and his radio set on the Armed Forces Network. Now, I am sure that it was quite a popular broadcast that night, with various politicians claiming that the United States was at war and that all allies should be prepared to fight. My friend and I looked at each other and had the same thought that we eventually shared: who are we at war with? This was long before there was any talk of Osama bin Laden, Saudi family links, Florida pilot schools or any other information besides the wreckage of a building I visited as a child, and plane crashes in Washington and a quiet forest.

I will stop here. The events that followed were the headlines we all expected; the tribute concerts and memorials (strange how I predicted “Wish You Were Here” would be used so often, as was “New York State of Mind”). And I was soon to be back home, noting all of the American flags in the windows of Canadian homes (a newspaper insert the people of my hometown were encouraged to use), the amount of empathy we suddenly had for our closest neighbour, and the fear that the world had now changed.

We are still learning lessons...all these years later.

Selah

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

politicshistoryheroes and villains
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • EYHCS8 months ago

    Eloquent. Real. Wrought with emotive context and visualization. The images you described are so prevalent in my mind 22 years later. I can transcribe to this day - every emotion, experience, and pure shock I felt that day. When I was awakened by my then-partner - I thought it was a dream or some weirdly scripted movie. Just in time to see the second plane crash into the 2nd tower - both are burned in my hippocampus forever! Well done - for reminding us - they only win if we fail to learn from the past to create a better future! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Anisah Suhailah8 months ago

    I may not have been born during 9/11 but hearing such tragedies makes me remember that human life is fragile and precious.

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    I'd never heard that quote you added at the end, but it's beautiful and very true. Thanks for sharing your story, it's interesting to hear the personal experiences and remember how this day affected people all over the world.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Thanks, for sharing, Kendall! The outpouring of support from our neighbors is something that stuck with me from this.

  • Rachael MacDonald8 months ago

    So right in saying we all have our own memories of that day. Some days just stick with you... You picked a great quote to end on, there really is no time for hate.

  • I have never understood and will never understand the need for all this violence. Humans are monsters!

  • ema8 months ago

    That day I was shocked, in the following days, I honestly hoped that the world would change, that we couldn't remain still. I hoped that governments would change their attitude. Unfortunately after so many years, I have to say that not much has changed and that we never learn. We like to be moved and commemorate, and then we start again.😔

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Never Forget, 9/11!!! On the phone, too many emotions. Watching the news in the breakroom, instructed to be back on the phone. Then, three hours later, we were sent home. Thank you for sharing your experience!!!💕

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    A shocking day in so many ways. I was due to visit NY the weekend after and was super excited for the trip. We cancelled. There was no way I could be a tourist at that time. What stays with me after the devastating loss to so many are two things: the audacity of the attack and the footage of people jumping out of the towers. Sends a chill even now.

  • My wife & I were out for our morning walk when a neighbor told us what had happened with the first plane. We saw the second plane hit.

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    The day that changed so much for so many. I also had family in NYC.I had nightmares for weeks. Thank you for writing this. Never forget.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I was 15 and I saw the news in the morning and then headed to school where we had two choices, we could take the rest of the day off or, if we needed to, we could see the school counsler to help process what happened. I didn't like the school counselor so I went home.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    <3 Thanks for sharing <3

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    It really did mark a before and after for me, even as a kid. 😢 Thanks for sharing your experience.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.