Journal logo

5 Ways to Earn Money from Home

Always wanted to go to work in your PJs? Now you can!

By Crunchy MonyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have long believed in being the creator of my own destiny.

Four years ago, I decided no longer was I going to work for someone else, instead I'd take matters into my own hands, and work my own hours, from my own home, and do what I want. No more deadlines, no more stress from my boss, just freedom to do what I want, when I want.

But is this really a viable option?

Could I really get this to work?

Well, so far, I don't like to blow my own trumpet, but I'm doing pretty well.

Here's a few ways I earn money from home.

Surveys and referrals.

Hands-down, the easiest way I earn money, is by doing surveys and referrals from my phone or laptop.

It only takes a couple of minutes each day, and I usually make enough money to be paid a minimum of $100 each week. Often, it's higher than that. This, combined with the next few tips I am going to give you, is a great start to your work from home career.

My favourite company to do these surveys for, is Octopus Group. They are an Australian company and have lots of interesting surveys to answer, some are for confectionery companies, some are watching videos and giving your opinion on Australian tourism. The genres are wide and varied, and ensuring you have your profile filled out correctly will mean you get lots of surveys on a regular basis.

In addition to the surveys you can do (which, by the way, you can do on your phone via an app, which is free to download), you can also refer friends. I find this is the best way to earn cash. You can get up to $20 per referral. Ka-ching!

Next, we have Appen.

Another Aussie based company, Appen has lots of interesting projects for you to do from home. Most of them are research based, and pay per project. There are lots of projects for you to complete, and payments are usually quite generous.

Here examples of some of the opportunities that may be available:

  • Search Media Evaluation (work with the world’s top search engine companies)
  • Social Media Evaluation (help improve social media around the globe)
  • Translation
  • Transcription
  • Survey and Data Collection (Short projects that last from 15 minutes to three hours)
  • Linguistic Specialties (Text to Speech, Computational, Phonetics, Pronunciation, Annotation, etc.)
  • Lexicon Annotation
  • Speech Evaluation

You are paid monthly, via Payoneer. Again, you can earn extra cash with referrals, which pay a bonus of $25 for each referral. You can easily generate a full time income if you qualify for enough projects. Click here to sign up. (Keep in mind, Appen reviews each candidate carefully and it can sometimes take a week or more to be approved).

Google rewards

Not really a job per se, but I thought this was something that's definitely worth mentioning. Did you know Google will pay you to do surveys? Download the free Google Rewards app, and you can earn free money that goes straight to your Google Play account to download android apps.

Sell your stuff on Facebook Marketplace and Ebay

Embrace your inner Marie Kondo and if it no longer sparks joy, get rid of it!!

From clothes, to toys, to kitchen items that are collecting dust at the back of your cupboard, there are so many things that people want to buy. I highly recommend watching Tidying up by Marie Kondo on Netflix, or reading a copy of her book, The Magic of Tidying Up for some inspiration. Note: may inspire you to fold every single item of clothing you own in a really strange way. People WILL think you've lost your marbles when they see you standing your t-shirts up once they're folded.

I sell on both Ebay and Facebook. Facebook is great because it doesn't cost you anything, but Ebay puts your item out to a bigger audience.

And last but not least...

Of course, it would be remiss not to mention Vocal as another great way to earn money. Writing journalistic style articles for them is an easy way to get paid. Whilst certainly not a get-rich-quick option, it's a great way to earn money while you sleep. Just type up some information-rich content on a topic of your choosing, and get paid when people read your article. They can even pay you in tips if they love it! Just go here to sign up.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Crunchy Mony

My name is Mony, and I am a wife and mother of 4 amazing children. We live in Sydney, Australia.

I am very interested in natural living, and plan to share with you some of my favourite things. I hope you enjoy them!

Love and light, -Mony.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.