Journal logo

3 Reasons I Paid for a Medium Membership

When Reluctance Turns to Insight

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
3 Reasons I Paid for a Medium Membership
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

I am a member of several websites, mostly due to the fact that they help me with my work. I also love to read, so it took little encouragement for me to decide to join Medium. After joining this website, I found out that I was able to write for the platform. That made me exceptionally excited as that is what I do for a living, and as soon as I figured out how many other writers were on the platform, I was ecstatic as I love to read.

Then, I found out that there was a membership required to gain access to all the content on this platform. I was a little disappointed with this as Quora, StoryOrigin, and other websites that I was a member of also required a membership. It just seemed like I couldn’t get a break. Why did every website want me to pay them without me knowing how beneficial their content would actually be for me? Now, I don’t usually sign-up for these offers, because after weighing out my options, I don’t usually see a benefit in them. However, I decided Medium was different.

These are the reasons that I decided to sign-up for Medium:

In order to write for some of the publications on Medium, you have to be a Medium member. It seems a little constrained at first to ask people to pay for a membership, but when you think about it, writers only get paid on here when paid members read their stories. Therefore, in order to diversify my writing and support other authors, I needed to get the membership.

There are so many interesting articles on the website. If I want to read a book, there are authors that post their chapters. If I want to read about things going on in the news, there are writers that post news articles, and if I just want to kick back and enjoy a little poetry, I can do that too. I like the fact that I can read about a person that grew up a completely different way than I did and hear about their experiences. I like the fact that I have the opportunity to understand someone’s opinions on a popular debate, and I love the advice posted in articles by other authors on how to appreciate life despite its struggles. However, in order to access all of this content, I needed to have a membership.

I wanted to interact with others. Even though I could clap on articles, there were times where I wasn’t able to comment and engage in conversation with those that had written certain pieces. Now, I am not sure if my complications were due to my own technical failure, but I did notice that after I bought a membership, I had a better ability to comment on articles, highlight the parts that I liked, and clap for members that I hadn’t read before.

Paying for a Medium membership opened up a lot of doors for me. I am so happy that I am able to diversify my skills by writing for a variety of publications. I am excited that I can read all of the wonderful articles on the platform, and I am less stressed now that I can comment on, clap for, and highlight articles that I like. On top of all this, I am able to contribute to other writers that spend their time and efforts creating stories by reading their work. This is one of the easiest ways to give back to authors, and it is nice to be able to be a part of it.

career
7

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.