Journal logo

3 Keys to Create a Website for Experiences and Events

Share Examples, Use Tools, and Invite Friends

By Katrina JuliaPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like
3 Keys to Create a Website for Experiences and Events

You have a website or a blog, but have you considered how to continue to create a page or website for experiences and events?

You run your business on Instagram like a boss, but have you considered hosting experiences and events? Live events help you create community in every way to a whole new level.

Maybe you have already set up online courses, and you are ready to create and host live events. You aren't exactly sure how to set up your website or market and promote your live events to your community.

It is simpler than you think to create a website for experiences and events.

Until several years, I did not have a clear path like I do today. It took time, investment, and action to get to where I am and we are today. I've found that misalignment to passion and purpose overflows in any area of life.

The same goes for our clarity. If we are missing clarity in any area, this will impact other areas of life in some way. This relates to creating websites and events completely.

Website Experiences

I first started creating websites in college with HTML and Flash over 20 years ago. I created our organizational website for Millennium M.O.D.E.L.s in undergrad at Sam Houston State University.

I continued to take the initiative and learn new website skills through several industries. All through seven-plus industries, I was a side-hustle queen and did consulting work. This included business plans and websites.

I immersed myself in learning Wix. I started regularly creating websites with Wix in 2007 in various industries including consulting, education and fashion. In 2016, I learned about Kajabi—an all in 1 marketing platform—including online courses.

I love the ease, flow, and automation. This excites me especially with my background, education, and experience in education, tools, and training. Some of my experiences include executing training for 50+ locations for 3,000+ people with various learning management systems.

I was exposed to Kajabi through some of the investments I made in programs, courses, and events with online educators and marketers Chalene Johnson and Brendon Burchard. I continuously immerse myself in education with digital marketing.

Event Experiences

With event planning, I have created, hosted and attended events for 20+ years. This started in being Vice President of the Program Council at Sam Houston State University. I organized events ranging from 10+ people to 13,000+ with Homecoming with teams.

This included personally handling a request for proposals, vendors, and set-up coordination for the team, in addition to proposing six to seven plus figure budgets to the entire school board. My event planning, training, and retreats grew into seven plus industries. This included coordinating and speaking at trainings for 25—3,000 to 10,000 + people across industries

In one particular case, coordinating 50+ locations nationally for four back to back one-week-long training for team building, strategy, and compliance for 3,000 people with a team of four people.

Through my journey from corporate to calling, I experienced clarity on desiring expression, time and location freedom. These three ultimately leading to financial freedom.

Disclaimer: I am not there yet. I am on my way. I am helping others as well.

I've now created five-plus freebies, five-plus courses, and five-plus events using Wix, Kajabi and other tools for experiences and events. I've helped numerous others as well. If I did it, so can you.

So, let's get into:

3 Keys to Create a Website for Experiences and Events

1. Share Examples

Sharing examples on your website for experiences and events is important. People want to see evidence of the experiences, events, and results you've done. This helps build trust. The biggest fear most people have is the unknown.

By sharing examples on your website for experiences and events, this helps people overcome that fear when it comes to you. Keep in mind people trust at different levels and times. That is why it is so important to be consistent.

Examples you could share could include:

  1. Prior work and corporate-related experiences
  2. Event and speaking videos and testimonials
  3. Hosted events and press trips
  4. Media Features & Blog Posts

Keep in mind what you love to see when you first discover something or someone.

In the beginning, I shared prior experiences. Now, I have testimonials and videos from our workshops, speaking, and retreats. Sharing content with the community creates trust and more community.

On our Home Page

2. Use Tools

Tools make it so much easier. I use Wix for our website. It includes our blog & email marketing for our newsletter. We use Kajabi for our freebies, courses, and events.

To expand exposure to invite people I use tools and platforms like EventBrite, Airbnb, and more. In today's online world, it isn't enough to post only on your website. Using additional platforms like these, and social media helps more people know about your experiences and events.

A website is a tool. However, if people don't know about it then how will they participate in your experience or event?

Platforms You Could List Experiences & Events Include:

  1. EventBrite
  2. Airbnb Experiences
  3. Book Retreats
  4. We Travel

3. Invite Friends

Talk to people like you would your friends online and live. Once I transformed this thinking online and live, everything started changing. Keep in mind, I worked in strategy, consulting and finance roles in industries with mostly men 45+.

Now, I have and we have a lifestyle brand focused on people 32-45 years of age wanting to create a life and business they love. I connect to a completely different demographic. It aligns with who I am and who I and we want to connect with.

When you make it easy and relatable for you, that is how it comes across to others. Be and do what is authentic to you. It helps you freely express yourself and your brand.

Start inviting your friends to your event consistently and early. Give them time to make plans. Some ways that I and we invite people to experiences and events are on blogs, social media, and podcasts. Ways that I and we do this on social media include stories, lives, and posts. Creating content like a boss will help you.

Examples could share could include:

  1. Blogs, podcast episodes in intro/outro
  2. Social media posts e.g. IG, LinkedIn, Facebook
  3. Social media stories & lives & videos e.g. IGTV & YouTube

3 Keys to Create a Website for Experiences and Events

The three keys to create a website for experiences for events involves sharing examples, using tools, and inviting friends. People want to see examples of your related experiences and events to help them trust you and your brand.

Tools and platforms for your experiences and events will help you increase exposure for your event online. It's important to connect with people to make them feel special online and live. Be yourself and communicate how you truly are. People feel authenticity.

This is not a one time and you are done approach. I revisit these three keys ALL the time!

What did you get from the Three Keys to Create Websites for Experiences and Events? What action will you take next? What will you take action on in the next 90 days?

If you love this post, you'll love Seven Ways to Win the Day As An Entrepreneur

social media
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.