Interview logo

Niva Highlights: DJ Pretty Dainty

One of the most versatile female DJs in Florida

By Princess NivaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

Today I had the opportunity to speak with one of the hottest female DJs in Orlando, FL to gain more insight on what it’s like to be a female DJ in 2022. I’ll like to introduce you to DJ Pretty Dainty. She has been in the game for over ten years. She has a unique sound and is extremely versatile. According to Career Explorer, 32% of DJs are female and 68% are male. Depending on the type of event a person may be throwing, it is likely a good idea to also include a female DJ in the lineup for diversity. A female DJ can provide a different kind of vibe. DJ Pretty Dainty has an online series called The Patio, where you can catch her spinning some hot mixes straight from her patio. She also regularly pays homage to local Orlando artists. DJ Pretty Dainty is very talented. In addition to DJ’ing, she is also an amazing singer, skater, and content creator.

INTRODUCING DJ PRETTY DAINTY

Hey DJ Pretty Dainty, thank you for joining me. Where were you born?

On an Army base in Honolulu, Hawaii

What made you decide to become a DJ?

Early exposure to the arts and anything and everything music related. My Father is a very talented musician and disc jockey who plays many instruments. Exposure to his record collections and turntables was what really made me interested in the DJ route.

How would you describe your DJ style?

Open platform, versatile and outside of the box

What’s your favorite genre of music?

Impossible to choose one, but RNB lives in my head rent free daily

How old were you the first time you did an event?

First time I officially DJ at an event was around 2008, so I was 25 turning 26. 14 years ago. It was a private but larger event.

Do you feel female DJs have different challenge than male DJs?

I definitely feel that female DJs have a completely different set of challenges than male DJs. It’s still strangely looked upon as a “male” dominated industry. Also, there are all kinds of stereotypes regarding the way a female DJ should “carry” herself to be embraced on certain platforms when it should be based solely on talent.

What do you enjoy most about being a DJ?

What I enjoy most about DJ’ing is the discovery process. A DJ like myself who has studied music from they were young just by listening is still gaining knowledge every day. Building music crates is just like building information archives that are study tools overtime. So overall my favorite parts about being a DJ are providing an experience for music lovers like myself and knowing that music can teach us something new every day. Music is knowledge.

What can we expect to see more of from you in the future?

In the near future, you can expect to see more showcasing of central FLA talent every chance I get. Some nice upcoming bookings in 2022 and 2023. I also have an EP coming out soon with 7 songs by yours truly.

What advice would you give to younger up and coming female DJs?

Drop "female DJ" from vocabulary when speaking of self. The playing field will never be balanced for female DJs or fair so create your own lane and never undersell yourself or accept shorts.

Where can people listen to your sets?

You can find several of my live sets and audio on Soundcloud and Mixcloud. You can also check out some unique sets on my IGTV on Instagram including my ongoing mix series OG vs. Sampled and Summer Savage.

Check out DJ pretty dainty on #SoundCloud

https://on.soundcloud.com/4uXvf

If you would like to contact DJ Pretty Dainty, her social media links are below.

https://linktr.ee/DjPrettyDainty

CreatorsHeroesMusiciansActors

About the Creator

Princess Niva

I was born in London & have lived in America for more than half of my life. I am a third generation Jamaican, and I’ve been writing for over a decade. I’ve never made my work public until now & hope you enjoy as I embark on my journey.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Princess NivaWritten by Princess Niva

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.