Interview logo

My Last Conversation With Sam Obiagor - Patience Ozokwo

Patience remembers her old friend.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

2021 has been a very weird year. In terms of the pandemic, it has been very up and down. At some points, it looks like we're coming out of the bleak days and then suddenly, things look grim again. It's been very up and down, just like life, and so when Nollywood titans Patience Ozokwo and Kate Henshaw joined TV show host Ebuka on Rubbin' Minds, it was something that they had to discuss especially in terms of their careers as well.

During the conversation, both Kate and Patience talked about how it has been navigating this year's wins (both Patience Ozokwo and Kate Henshaw will be starring in the Chief Daddy sequel Chief Daddy 2 which will be premiering on January 1st, 2022) and the year's losses. It's a complicated situation with many sides and thus, answers to the question reflected the same energy.

Here's how both Patience Ozokwo and Kate Henshaw talked about this year's losses, including the death of beloved Nollywood actor, Sam Obiago.

Late Sam Obiago and Patience Ozokwo

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Ebuka, Patience Ozokwor, and Kate Henshaw on Rubbin Minds

The conversation began when host Ebuka asked the ladies saying: "In all of this weirdness and sadness because I know you (Patience) just lost a colleague, it was still a very good year for Nollywood."

Kate Henshaw immediately jumped in to agree saying:

This has been an amazing year for Nollywood, I won't even lie. God forgive me. It's my best year in like how many years workwise. Back to back. And then of course ending the year and then starting the year, January. January is that harmattan month, forget December. January is nothing. You'll just be waiting. One day seems like sixty. And for me I'm starting with a bang [Chief Daddy 2] and I have something else coming up, I have an announcement next year coming up. So I'm totally pumped but when you look around, you just try and share some of that because it's not everyone. Of course I've had loss of friends and you're wondering: should you be happy or should you be sad? How do you balance it without looking too loud? I mean, you care but you have to find a balance.

Patience Ozokwo who earlier in the month posted about her sadness in reaction to the news of Sam Obiago's passing said about the situation:

Sometimes you just break down. You know, we're humans. Like Sam, I didn't even get to hear he was - I'm always not hearing that somebody is sick and then I'll just hear that the person is dead. And that's like a bang. And I saw him recently and I wanted to tell him that he lost weight but I was like maybe it's good for him, he needs to lose weight. But I didn't know he had problems, that he was battling with anything. Very brave.

This year has indeed been a very tricky one and balancing the year's good moments against the horrible moments is a very hard thing to do. It's interesting to see how both Patience and Kate have been able to cope with it. It cannot be easy doing all this juggling. What do you think about what they said and how have you dealt with the ups and downs of this year? Let me know by leaving a comment on my Facebook page.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.