Interview logo

Linda Osifo Cries While Talking about What She Experienced During Her First Years in Nollywood

"If I talk this thing, I will cry."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Linda Osifo broke unto the Nigerian movie industry when she got her big break in 2015 acting in the EbonyLife Production, Desperate Housewives Africa. Since then, her star has risen and Linda has starred in such blockbuster movies as Merry Men 2, Unroyal, Devil in Agbada, and more.

Linda Osifo

Now in a new emotional interview with BBC Pidgin, Linda is talking about her early days in the industry as well as giving out advice to younger women and men trying to enter the industry. This is what Linda said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Linda Osifo on BBC Pidgin

Speaking to BBC Pidgin (in an interview that was entirely in pidgin and has been translated below to regular English for easier reading), Linda said:

The age that I realized that acting is what I want to do is when I was the age of 16 years old. At that age I was involved in the school drama. Any time there was a play in the church, I was there. When it was time for me to graduate from university and choose what I want to do, I went to ask my mother, "be truthful, what do you see me doing in life?". She told me that she sees me out there being a star. At that time I was 22, I left Canada and came back to Nigeria.

When I first started my acting career in around 2013, many directors and producers did not know who I was, they did not recognize my face. The only thing was that I used to talk with oyibo English and that was not what they wanted to hear during auditions. So there were many times when I would go to an audition and I wouldn't get called back, or I would go to an audition and I wouldn't even know who to ask for information. So yes, many times they rejected me. Many many times.

The first break I got was with Mo Abudu. And the project that we did, if I talk this one I will cry, the project was Desperate Housewives Africa and that was in 2015. That time when I entered that projected, 2015, I received a nomination for Best Actress in a Television Series during the Exquisite Ladies of the Year award. That year I said that this acting thing, I die here. Because for someone to see me and recognize me as an actress during that period, it gave me hope that mama, papa, I did not waste my time. And if I look at 2015 and compare it to now, it's just to say thank God and go. That is all. God, I thank you.

My advice to younger girls is number one, make sure you know yourself. When you know yourself you won't do what another person pressures you to do. Number two, make sure that the choice that you make is your own choice; and number three, this one can relate to men and women, when you have passion for something make sure you try it because you have nothing to lose. Last last the thing you will lose is time and money, and time, it does not get lost because it will still pass whether you use it or not.

I've never really seen Linda this emotional during an interview before. She has indeed come a really long way and it is so good to see her thriving today in the industry.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

Celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.