Interview logo

MEET GoldenGirl TaTi

Artist

By Dre BrooksPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1
Upcoming artists

What’s your name and where are you from? My real name is Hope Hatcher which is the name I have been going by my whole life except by people close to me like my mother who always called me TaTi so I got to a point after moving to New York, where Im like Im going by TaTi and that's gonna be apart of my artist name. My cousins call me T too though. Goldengirl happened because I’m Golden brown and my skin glows in a Golden way, like I never seen anyone with my skin tone and that just makes me feel blessed and lucky, like wow I’m really 1 of 1. I’m from the east side of the streets of Detroit, Michigan, Dirty D, The Motorcity born & raised!! Why do you love what you do? I love what I do because I love to create. That's my purpose. So making music puts me in that creative space I’m meant to be in giving me an expressive outlet. What makes you different? I'm different because nobody has been through the things I've been through and probably couldn’t handle what I've been through either but that's just like I probably couldn’t handle what somebody else went through and that just proves how God has us all on our own paths. So the path he has for me is specifically for me and can't nobody follow it, can't nobody take it, & can’t nobody interfere with what's already done either cause God gave it to me, that's special and thats why Im different. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? I see myself accomplishing goals, especially my 5 year financial goals, traveling, living it up and hopefully settling down family wise by then. In 5 years though I'll only be 28, so I still have lots of time to chase dreams, make mistakes, take risks and build myself by just living and learning. Who knows where I’ll actually be in 5 years though because it’s like we make our own plans based off our goals which is cool, its smart but our own plans can’t go against God’s plans, and we never know God’s plans for us so for me I’ll just stay the course, let time do its thing and allow the things out of my control to just be. What do you want to accomplish in life? I want to make my ancestors proud and do them some due justice. I want to give back to my people, my black people and not to say they gave me anything physically but they gave me hope that ignited a purpose in me aligning me to my destiny that’s bigger than me, bigger than us all. I want to be one of those leaders who introduce new ways of thinking and new ideas. I want to be a part of the pivot point closing the gap between poverty and wealth in the black community. What do you bring to your industry? I bring a light that’s unmatched. A freshness. With my perspective just based on my own personal experiences, I will bring a totally different view to all aspects of the industry. Everything I touch turns Gold. What do you want to be remembered by? I want to be remembered by my heart. I want people to be like “Oh she was a good person, she was honest & always gave her all”. I want to be remembered by my character. The things that made me, Me. My personality and traits. It's hard to be a good person, but acknowledging your own flaws & not being embarrassed but instead being vulnerable builds strength and quality, and that’s what makes me more and more of a good person everyday.

PhotographersMusiciansCelebritiesAuthors
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.