Interview logo

Linda Rivenbark Interviews Julie Lacksonen

Not My Shoes

By Linda RivenbarkPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Photo credit: Runner's World

It has been my honor and privilege to interview Julie Lacksonen for the "Not My Shoes" project. I have learned a lot about Julie in the time we have exchanged questions and answers, as well as by reading extensively in her amazing stories. She is a highly talented and caring person who finds time to write about a wide range of topics, teach K-8 school students many aspects of Music, fill her spare time with family activities, and participate in sports like boating, swimming and snorkeling with her husband, Ted. Let's look at what I learned about Julie.

Linda:

Hi, Julie. Let me begin by saying that I subscribed to your Story Profile a while back and have read many of your stories. Today, I have read eight of your more recent stories so far.

I especially enjoyed your story written on your birthday, October 14th in which you shared 57 "words of wisdom" quotes. My favorites were #51 and #56.

Quote #51 reads, Smile - “All the statistics in the world can’t measure the warmth of a smile.”- Chris Hart.

Quote #56 reads, Use your talents - "Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best.” – Henry Van Dyke

By the way, Julie, I like your Halloween story entitled "Devil's Island". It is a real nail-biter. I have never been able to write horror stories, although I often enjoy the ones published on Vocal. To be honest, I am much more into SiFi stories. Do you have any favorite SiFi stories or authors?

Julie:

Thank you for talking with me today, Linda. I'm glad you have enjoyed reading my stories. I have also read and enjoyed many of yours. Outside of Vocal, I enjoy reading many SiFi authors, most recently stories by Lindsay Buroker. She has many series and quite a following.

Book 1 in her new series, A Witch in Wolf Wood, is entitled 'Mind Over Magic', and book 2 is called 'Spell Bound' and is hot off the press. They are available in the printed versions or as e-books.

Linda:

Julie, since Music is your specialty, I am wondering who you enjoy listening to. Do you have any favorite musicians?

Julie:

As for musicians, I like many there too. I especially like Diana Krall and Alison Krauss. Plus, for groups, I like Heart, Styx, and Kansas.

Linda:

Do you enjoy traveling? Personally, I have never traveled anywhere outside the USA. How about you?

Julie:

I have been to Mexico many times. Most recently a snorkeling trip with my husband of just three years. I have been to all of the western states, but I was born and raised in Minnesota. I’ve been to Canada and Turks and Caicos (SCUBA diving). I would love to go to New Zealand and Austria.

Julie Chilln'

Boating Fun

Linda:

Could you tell us a little about your career in music:

Julie:

I’ve been teaching music, straight out of college at the same public school - Dr. Daniel Bright School - for 34+ years! My first year was 1987 and the school was brand new. I will probably work another 7-10 years.

I currently teach general music, band and choir to K-8 students. I got my degree in Music Education at Concordia College in Moorhead, MN, about 90 miles from my home. It’s a great liberal arts school with a Lutheran background.

Our school's mascot was a Corncob. No, I'm not making this up. I am a proud Concordia Cobber!

Linda:

I would love to hear about your family, Julie. Are you married? Do you have children? We would love to hear about your family of origin, too.

Julie:

I would love to tell you about them, too.

I was with my first husband, Paul Smith, for about 30 years. He passed away from a heart attack in 2016, just two months shy of our 29th anniversary. In honor of Paul, I go by the name Julie Smith on Facebook.

Julie and First Husband Paul Smith

Julie and First Husband Paul Smith

I met my new husband, Ted Lacksonen, online and we married in 2019. He was living in Flagstaff when we met. That is a little over 60 miles away from Cottonwood. I count myself fortunate to have found another compassionate, caring man to share my life with.

Ted and Julie Lacksonen

I have two daughters. My oldest, Andrea, is a single mom, living in my town of Cottonwood in Arizona. She’s a chef.

Julie's Daughter, Andrea, and Grandson Xavier

My youngest, Ashley, moved to California, where she works as an x-ray technician. She and her husband are expecting their first Child.

Julie's Youngest Daughter, Ashley

As for my family of origin, I started life as a Hannemann. I was born and raised in Minnesota as part of a musical family. My parents, three brothers, my sister, and I sang together. I played the piano and the flute.

The Hannemann Family

I was quite a tomboy then - climbing trees, ice skating and sled riding downhill onto a frozen river. Overall, though, I really wasn't crazy about the Minnesota winters. Later, as an adult, I remember my Mom coming home from a visit to my brother who lived in Arizona and telling me I would love it there.

Soon after marrying my first husband, Paul, I changed the focus of my job search to the Grand Canyon State. After being turned down for two jobs, I landed a job in a town called Cottonwood, somewhat larger than the town I grew up in. It's a beautiful place, surrounded by mountains, wonderful recreation on the Verde River, and plenty of sunshine almost all year long.

Linda:

Julie, in reading your published story, 'Who I Am', I was drawn to a quote you cited that explains your passion for teaching your students the wonders of music. It went like this:

"Like Richard Dreyfuss’ character in Mr Holland’s Opus, I have lots of music in me which I have never shared."

After getting to know you better, which I have greatly enjoyed, I would say that your students are in for a lot of fun and life enrichment with you as their teacher!

Julie:

Thank you, Linda. It has been nice working with you on our mutual interviews.

Linda:

And thank you, too, Julie, for reading all my stories...but mostly for giving me so many wonderful stories to read. I will be getting back to them soon!

Musicians

About the Creator

Linda Rivenbark

I believe in the magic of words, love, and tenacity. There is a world out there that needs to be explored, researched, and written out to try to make some sense of it, and to make a better place for the children of tomorrow.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Linda RivenbarkWritten by Linda Rivenbark

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.