Interview logo

Interview with J. Delaney-Howe

Jim Delaney-Howe, fellow Vocal writer and poet

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
11
Interview with J. Delaney-Howe
Photo by David Marcu on Unsplash

Hello, everyone, and welcome to my first ever interview I have ever conducted and written. Due to the inspiration of my friend and fellow writer Courtney Capone and all the admins for her Facebook group Vocal Writers Sharing Community, all of us were paired up (in a game called, “Not My Shoes,”) to create interviews with the intention of showcasing talents and our diversity in writing and the arts.

I met Jim through various Facebook Vocal groups and we interacted through our shared stories and poems, which I found we had a lot in common and also loved the same type of poetry and fiction. I placed a nature picture for his interview because I find his nature poetry particularly inspirational and very poignant, with a deep sense of appreciation for life and it’s bounty, and I have placed below a few links to some works of his I found deeply wonderful.

One of his great poems

My favorite poem of his

I will also link at the bottom his profile as well.

Well, without further ado, here is the interview!

Melissa: Thank you for doing this interview with me, Jim. I would first like to say your diverse portfolio of works is inspirational, and I find your nature poetry incredibly vivid and full of depth. What would you say is your main source of inspiration in your writing?

Jim: Hmm. I had to think about this one for a minute. I think overall, my inspiration comes from life. Different joys, different hurts, good times, bad times…I pull inspiration from all of it. As far as the poetry I write about nature, I think I have always had this connection to nature, as far back as I can remember. I feel comfortable outside. I get refreshed by time in the woods. Gardening keeps me grounded. Swimming in a mountain lake or a cool stream is like a baptism for my soul. Nature moves me, and so I try to convey that in my writing.

Melissa: Great answer! When did you start writing? Why?

Jim: I started writing in highschool, and have always enjoyed it. Then life got in the way, and I tried to keep up blogs here and there, just never had the time to devote to it. I started devoting time to writing as an exercise in therapy, and the people I shared my writings with thought that I was pretty good. Then I found Vocal, and it has changed writing for me.

Melissa: What are your long term goals for your writing? Short term?

Jim: My long term goals for writing. Another one I had to think about. I like publishing my poetry and stories on Vocal, so in the short term I will keep that up, but also expand to Medium. My long term goal is to finish a novel I am working on, based on one of my short stories.

Melissa: Those are some excellent goals I can appreciate as a fellow author. What’s your favorite books? Authors?

Jim: Favorite author is Norman Maclean, A River Runs Through it is my favorite story written by him. Favorite book is A Time to Kill by John Grisham.

Melissa: Tell us an interesting fact about yourself, random or interesting.

Jim: Random interesting fact about me. Hmm. Ok, how about a guilty pleasure. I freakin’ love all these stupid Hallmark Christmas Movies. I am a huge romantic at heart, and I love happy endings. Maybe because A large part of my life I wasn’t happy, I don’t know. But yeah, I love them. My husband won’t even watch them with me.

Melissa: I am also a huge romantic at heart, as well! What’s your favorite movies?

Jim: Favorite movies. Braveheart and Gladiator are right up there. Love most of the Die Hard movies (Yes, I consider 1 and 2 a Christmas Movie! LOL)

Melissa: Most people do consider those classics great for Christmas time viewing! I love Gladiator as well. Do you listen to music for inspiration? What do you listen to?

Jim: And I LOVE music. Pretty much all except death metal and hardcore rap. Mostly into 90's, country, and lately holiday music. Love music I can sing along and harmonize with too Like Lady A and Pentatonix. I listen to music more than I watch tv. I also enjoy some classical. Gabrial Fuare's Requiem has been a favorite of mine since singing it in an adult choir.

Bonus question!!!

Melissa: What’s one piece of yours that truly signifies your style and writing passion?

Jim: And, for the bonus. I have two pieces that I think reflect my style and passion for writing. One is My Firekeeper and I which in a stylistic manner and for the subject matter chosen, I feel that this is most authentically me. And this one, On The Banks of Grimes Creek is one that I wrote that one for my husband, and is a very small part of the novel I am working on.

*********

I am so glad to have done this interview with Jim on his unique perspective and how his writing has shaped his expression and experiences growing up.

I hope you enjoyed this interview and please check out Jim’s profile and read more of his poetry and stories today!!

Jim’s Vocal profile

Thank you, Melissa!

Creators
11

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.