Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Carl Beukes

In this interview, I'll be (digitally) sitting down with a new member of the Lifetime family: The Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate's Carl Beukes!

By Trevor WellsPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Trevor Wells: Thank you for agreeing to this interview, Carl! It's much appreciated. Like most of my interviews, let's start with the basics: what first inspired you to go into acting?

Carl Beukes: I was 9 years old when I first walked onto stage. That second, as I stepped foot in front of an audience as Baloo The Bear [The Jungle Book], changed my life and set my fate forever. I knew then that I wanted to be an actor and I’ve followed that course ever since.

Trevor Wells: Amazing! That reminds me of how I knew at a young age I wanted to be a writer. Of the projects you've been in the years since then, what would be your favorite experience?

Carl Beukes: I can’t really say that I have a favorite experience. Every project is so incredibly different to the next. Every character requires something different from me. So it becomes such a personal and intimate journey that to try and compare them would be strange. I'm honestly so grateful to be able to do what I love as a career that most the experiences are in the ‘Favorite' section. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely have a ‘worst experience’ list, but not so much a ‘favorite’.

Trevor Wells: I can understand that. Would you mind me asking about that 'worst experience' list?

Carl Beukes: Haha, I won’t get into bad experiences, but one of the worst experiences I can think of off hand is when I did a pilot for a show in South Africa (that was never picked up). In the scene, I, and an actress friend of mine, had to reenact a car accident where the car sank to the bottom of a lake. We shot it in a swimming pool--a very deep swimming pool. Having had no previous scuba experience and having to sit in a car at the bottom of an eight meter deep pool was harrowing enough. That was before they strapped us into the car with seatbelts and took our air away for the shot. Problem was, the divers with our air had to swim quite a distance away so as not to be in shot. So during a take, when I couldn’t hold my breath anymore, I’d make the generic sign for ‘I think I might die soon’ and the diver would very slowly swim from the other side of the pool to give me air. I remember thinking, while patiently waiting for the diver, if this pilot gets picked up, how awkward it will be for the actor that replaces me to re-shoot the scene that I drowned in.

Trevor Wells: Yikes...sounds pretty scary. Glad you both got through it OK! Now, looking over your IMDB, I can see that The Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate is the first film you've been in to premiere on Lifetime. What's the story behind you coming to be a part of it?

Carl Beukes: I hadn’t met Mark [Gantt] or Ross [Kohn] before working on this film. So when they approached me, saying they wanted me to play Hayden, I was definitely excited and yet, had no idea what to expect. So I met up with Mark and very quickly realized that I wanted to be a part of this. Mark has that way about him. Hahaha. Next thing I knew, I was on set in New Mexico.

Trevor Wells: Having spoken with him myself, I can see what you mean about Mark, haha! Is The Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate the first time you've played a villainous character?

Carl Beukes: I have played a few ‘bad boys’ in my time. For some reason, I am often cast to play the villain. I'm not exactly sure what this says about me. Hahaha.

Trevor Wells: Well, having seen you as Hayden, I can vouch that--whatever the reason--you're good at being a bad guy! Would Hayden Von Richter be the favorite villain you've played, or would another evil character take that title?

Carl Beukes: Playing villains is always interesting and difficult. But again, I don’t have a favorite. I try to relate to the villain so as to help the audience relate to him as well. I think that always thickens the plot when the villains intentions are better understood. We’re all human with different troubles in each of us. Just playing a villain to be bad and angry is two dimensional and not very interesting at all and I think we can all relate to villainous deeds or intentions or situations. Finding the human in all of it is where the gold is as far as I'm concerned.

Trevor Wells: An excellent mindset for playing these sorts of characters! I could definitely see some of that going on in Secret Life. Now as my regular readers might be able to tell you, director Mark Gantt is no stranger to Lifetime, nor were most of your co-stars. What was it like working alongside them?

Carl Beukes: Actors always say in interviews how much they loved everyone and how great everyone is. Well, in this case, on this set, with this cast and crew, it’s absolutely true. Mark is a wonderful man. A passionate, approachable and kind director. He sets a tone on set where we all felt very comfortable and at ease while we worked. Brianne and Carrie are ridiculously lovely. My time on set with them was unfortunately brief and over too soon, but it honestly felt like a little family as soon as I arrived and I was welcomed with open arms. Talented, good people, having fun, doing what they love. I mean, you can’t beat that.

Trevor Wells: Sounds just about perfect! Glad shooting was a fun experience for you all. So, last question: what advice do you have to give to other actors who may be reading?

Carl Beukes: I can honestly say that to keep a healthy mind set as an actor, one needs to love the work. Finding the truth in a story, a character, a moment. It can be exceptionally difficult to do that, but the result is something so incredibly special. I see a lot of actors striving so desperately for recognition. As an actor, the nature of this business is to get knocked down, rejected. The love for the work keeps you getting back up. Striving for the applause will eventually drive you insane. Having said that, my other advice is, try not to take it so seriously. We’re just playing, after all.

Trevor Wells: A great mindset that I'm sure will do you and so many others well to follow. Thank you again for taking the time and I wish you and the rest of the Secret Life cast nothing but the best!

Actors
Like

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.