Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Carrie Wampler

For this interview, I'll be talking with the star of Lifetime's recently released The Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate, Carrie Wampler!

By Trevor WellsPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

Trevor Wells: Hello Carrie! It's nice to officially meet you and I thank you again for agreeing to this interview. So, to start with the basics: what got you interested in acting?

Carrie Wampler: It probably sounds pretty typical, but as a little girl, I was always playing pretend. Always imagining I was different characters, living different lives. Plus, I was utterly obsessed with the Disney Channel, and loved to reenact all the episodes of my favorite shows. I would watch movies with amazing young actors giving touching performances, and wished I was able to do that too. When I was eleven, I signed up for my first local acting class, in my hometown of Dayton, Ohio. I never looked back!

Trevor Wells: Awesome! I'd say that must've made it pretty exciting when you landed that recurring role in Austin & Ally. Regarding Lifetime, while The Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate may be the first movie of yours I've officially reviewed, it's not your first Lifetime movie nor the first movie of yours I've seen. From IMDB, I see you made your debut in Blue Lagoon: The Awakening and, two years later, returned to Lifetime in Expecting Amish. What can you tell me about those first experiences in the Lifetime realm?

Carrie Wampler: Lifetime is near and dear to my heart! Blue Lagoon was the first film I ever did. I was fifteen, and to this day, it is one of my favorite set experiences that comes to mind. I was so young and new to the theatrical world, and everything seemed exciting. I played a smaller role in Expecting Amish a few years later, and again, it was a great experience. Professional, with incredibly kind and fun people! And now I have Secret Life coming out, which I had the time of my life working on. Lifetime has been good to me.

Trevor Wells: Glad to hear it, and that you're a fellow Lifetimer! Of all your Lifetime related roles, which would be your favorite? Among your overall acting roles, which would it be?

Carrie Wampler: Lifetime wise, while Stacey from Blue Lagoon will always hold a special place in my heart, Olivia in Secret Life would have to be my favorite. She goes on such a journey, and has to overcome so much adversity and loss throughout the film. From losing her parents, to going through a breakup, to meeting Ava and Hayden and thinking this could be her fresh start…only to be crushed again. It was a challenge, and I truly enjoyed getting to portray such a warm, gentle and kind character, who can be fierce when she needs to be.

Out of all the roles I’ve portrayed, Olivia is still up there. This was my first time leading a film, so I feel very proud and attached to her. I even named my car Liv, after the character. Another role that comes to mind is from the Funny Or Die Amazon Prime series I did a few years back, called Tales of Titans. I played Becca, who was a badass female captain of an all male competitive video gaming team. Becca was my opposite in many ways, but also a character I aspire to be more like, at times. I worked with Jason Ritter, and many other HILARIOUS and talented people. It was a funny show, and definitely one of my favorite projects and roles to date.

Trevor Wells: Awesome that you have so many badass characters under your belt! I definitely see what you're talking about regarding Olivia's journey throughout Secret Life. While watching, I took note of how emotionally striking Olivia's character arc is. Was it a challenge to take your character through such an array of feelings?

Carrie Wampler: It was a challenge, but also a blast. The biggest challenge was carefully tracking where she was in her journey. We didn’t film sequentially, so most days, shooting schedules were all over the place. We’d be jumping from pre-pregancy Olivia, to nine month pregnant Olivia with a mere lunch break in between (if even). I’d always make sure to take a moment to recenter myself between scenes, and check my timeline to make sure I was playing her at the right level for where she was at in the story/pregnancy. Mark, our director, was also very helpful when I needed a small push or reminder on what Olivia would be feeling in each given scene. After a long day of crying or screaming in scene after scene, I would go home exhausted. But the best kind of exhausted a girl could ask for. I loved it. I love the emotional grind.

Trevor Wells: Well, you certainly rose to the occasion, and I'm glad Mark was there to be a supporting hand. Though as much as I loved your performance, there was one thing about Olivia that got under my skin: her complacency. It seemed Olivia ignored so many red flags about the Von Richters and squandered her chance to escape when she made it to the police station, and that bugged me quite a bit. I was wondering if you might have a response?

Carrie Wampler: I love your honesty. I understand, and felt that way myself, at times. But, you have to remember, Olivia has no one. The Von Richters are not only her income, but truly her last hope at making a new life for herself. Also, in thinking about the evidence Olivia had against them at the time she was at the police station, I’m not sure if it would have warranted enough reason to believe she or the baby were in real danger. The Von Richters were powerful, famous and wealthy. I think she was too scared and intimidated. If she spoke up more when she had the chance, I wonder if the police would have believed her? It’s a great question, and one I thought much about.

Trevor Wells: Agreed about the police, and despite my feelings, I can understand Olivia's dire situation once she was in the Von Richters' web. You also did great in playing her up as a shy person afraid of conflict--making her all the more vulnerable to Ava and Hayden. So despite my misgivings, excellent work! So with this crazy year coming to a close in three months, what other plans do you have for 2020? I noticed on your IMDB that you're currently working on music.

Carrie Wampler: I’m currently working on season eight of the ABC show, The Goldbergs. I feel really lucky to be on a set right now. I know it’s a very hard time for many people in different fields, the entertainment industry being a big one. In my down time, I absolutely work on music. I play guitar and sing. When I’m not acting, it’s a fantastic way for me to express myself artistically, and it keeps me feeling like I’m working on my craft.

Trevor Wells: Good to know you're still finding work in these troubling times, and are keeping a positive attitude in the midst of it all. So to finish off this interview, what advice would you have to other aspiring entertainers who might be reading this?

Carrie Wampler: The advice I’m going to give is the advice I have inevitably been giving myself for years--especially this year, with all the delays in the industry. Be patient. If you’re working hard, and you believe in yourself, know it will happen when the timing is right. Live your life, keep focused and know that you’ve got this!!

Trevor Wells: Excellent advice for our current predicament! Thank you for taking the time, Carrie, and I wish you the best going forward. Can't wait to see what else you have in the works!

Actors
2

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.