Interview logo

I introduce me

Q and A about the author

By Kia T Cooper-ErbstPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

I thought this would be fun to do while working on my other stories. The reasons the questions and answers are posted at different times is because they were thought of at that particular moment.

1. How long have You been writing? Where do you get your ideas for your poems? stories?( 4/13) I would say that I have been writing since i was in my early teens some 30 odd years ago. I get my ideas and stories from just about everything and nothing. Though there are times when i will be talking to others and they will give me an idea(4/28)

2. What is your favorite story or poem? why? (4/15) My favorite story or poem on here would have to be "the disobedient toy" because it was about things that were going on in my real life as well as what was happening online. One of my favorite poems that i have ever read was "Phenomenal Woman" by Dr. Maya Angelou. The reason why that poem has resonated with me is because of her imagery and largely the way she lived her life.(4/22)

3. What writer has been your inspiration?(4/17) Lots of writers have been my inspiration over the course of the years but i don't write like any of them. As a poet once said "write your truth whatever that maybe." (4/24)

4.What do you do when you get frustrated and the words can't or won't come as easily as you want them to?(4/21) i about write any and every thing even if they don't make sense basically freestyle until something clicks.... you just never know what will work.(4/25)

5. What was the motivation for the Black History and the Women Series? and which of the people that were profiled did you learn the most about?(4/25) The motivation of doing both series was profiling those people that came before that most of us haven't heard of or that as been forgotten in history. I think the ones that i learned more about was definitely the invention profiles because we are not often taught about women or people of color inventors. When we are taught about inventors that not white they are usually men such as George Washington Carver. (4/28@11:17 am)

6. What else are you passionate about in life besides writing? (4/26) Hmm, well at different phases of my life i was passionate about different things. As a child, it was becoming a model or wonder woman( neither of which would have been possible as an adult. For my teen years, the model thing was still there but writing came on to the scene as well as getting interested in politics. My twenties was about becoming passionate about two other things wanting a career in the legal field and becoming a mommy....... Today i'm still passionate about my children and my writing. (4/29)

7. How long does it take you to write a story or a poem? what is your process?(4/27) Well, if it's a story it can depend on several things such as the topic of the story, research if any on the subject, and motivation. I usually will try and write until I am satisfied before letting someone read then i edit. So that can 2 or 3 days (normally). For poetry that might be as simple as a day..... sometimes just hours just to get it right.(5/4)

8.In your opinion what makes a successful writer or poet? What would you say to a future writer or poet? (4/28) In my humble opinion (and i am only speaking for myself) i think speaking of your truth and your view can make you a good writer but to be a great writer you also have to be able to write from other view points as well. As for being a poet, well if your poem means something and grabs the attention of others then it is good and possibly great. I would tell future writers and poets to just keep on writing and build on their craft.

Authors
2

About the Creator

Kia T Cooper-Erbst

Writer, poet, author. submissive. Mom of three wonderful human beings. These are the first things that come to mind when I think of myself besides being the obvious.... which is daughter, wife,etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.