Interview logo

Center Stage with Dana Stewart

A creators in the limelight series

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 23 min read
Top Story - May 2023
45
Created with CanvaPro

Welcome back! I'm here with another chat interview featuring creator, Dana Stewart. If you're new to the series, please let me take a quick moment to explain the vision.

My aim with each mini-interview is to give a small glimpse into what makes up these amazing creators through a fun and informative format. I've limited the interview method to facebook messenger chat. I've also asked creators to come up with a few questions for themselves as this is to aim the spotlight on them.

My talented guest in this sixth episode has an incredibly instinctive ability to transport readers with just a few words, taking them on epic adventures and deep, emotional journeys. Dana's level of creativity and attention to detail make all her works a welcome experience.

A quick glance at her profile reveals a caring and fun-loving view on life. It also showcases her talent as she has a runners-up achievement for her Runaway Train Challenge entry, Fate Train, as well as stories in fiction, criminal, confessions and more, not to mention her prolific poetry publications.

I've yet to find something of hers I did not thoroughly enjoy.

~

I hope you appreciate learning about what goes on in Dana's mind as we explore how she approaches the writing process and life. Come take a look!

~

H: Okay, I just got set up outside with my dog. Are you ready? Just let me know when you are.

D: Haha, I am setup with one of my dogs. The other one is tucked into his playpen. I'm ready! (gulp)

H: Wonderful. I feel a little nervous too. Just remember I can edit anything later and will check for grammar and misspellings. This can be as informal or formal as you want. I will conform to your level. Swear, make jokes, be all business, whatever floats your boat!

D: Ok, thanks. I'll just be normal, then. Whatever that is...

H: Haha, same and perfect!

So here is the first question, it's a sort of standard one, but I think is so very interesting from creator to creator.

What does your writing process look like?

(Feel free to answer in chunks or all at once.)

D: My creating process is I’m a closet pantser, then peacocks like I’m a plotter for the most part. Rarely do I outline a whole piece out in advance. I have an idea for a conflict, an ending, and back into it, set it up with starting at the beginning. Work into it.

Wow, no typos in that. I should mention I am a terrible typist.

H: A closet pantser, that's a fantastic way to say that. And aren't we all when it's for everyone to see.

D: I'm coming out.

H: I think a lot more will come out with you...hahaha. So, you start with the conflict. I love that...I think I do that a lot too.

D: I do. The conflict is the meat and bones in a story for me. What are the stakes? The story is how you overcome it or learn to live with it.

H: Yes, that is a compelling argument for starting there.

D: I have seen that in your work, which I am a big fan, btw.

H: Aww, thank you for that :) What about for poetry?

D: You're quite welcome. For poetry, it's based more on emotions, and that can vary from day to day, for obvious reasons.

H: Yes, we are emotional creatures, aren't we? I can identify so much with that statement.

D: We are. Passion is a driving force, from what car you buy to who you marry. Or it should be anyway.

H: Yes! Choices made based on the passion or lack thereof. So very true. Do you have a routine of sorts? i.e. time of day, special place, music, etc.

D: Yeah, I try to write something every day, no set writing time, but I do like to commit to a couple of hours at least, try to get something on the page. I’m not a morning person (at all) so early afternoon is my most productive time. This trait coincides well with the summer months. Or maybe I devised this habit so I can be inside from noon until 5pm, lol. I live in northern Alabama, so it gets hot. Very hot. The oppressive heat coupled with the humidity, and you get air you can wear. So, the a/c is my BFF in the afternoon hours.

I maybe talking too much, lol. Feel free to edit.

H: You are talking the right amount...this is all about you :)

I am feeling so connected to you as morning is not my time either. I'm a mid-morning to midday person, so I can identify. I feel for you and that humidity.

D: Right? The older I get the hotter it feels. Just intolerable really.

H: I feel that to my core. And I have curly hair, obviously which does not like humidity.

D: Lucky! Curly hair is so easy to manage. Mine is straight as a stick, sticks to my head.

H: We always want the opposite, don't we?

D: Yeah we do, lol. As for atmosphere, I converted my upstairs loft for an office at the onset of the pandemic. It’s one of those rooms that you can only stand up straight in if you’re in the center because of the roof pitch, but it’s cozy. And there’s a bathroom, so no excuses, lol. I’m a people watcher, so I get distracted too easily if I try to create in a public place. Although I love the idea of writing at a desolate cafe or at a Starbucks with yummy café latte, it’s not productive for me.

H: Oh, that's awesome! What a great space!! I'm impressed that you commit to the writing time and get it done. People watching can be so inspiring but quickly turn to distraction, I agree.

D: Yeah, I need to focus. If I don't write (or try to everyday) I feel like I lose a piece of me, forget what a noun is, that kind of bullshit.

H: Like you need to stay in the groove or it all gets out of whack?

D: Yeah, I love that. Stay in the groove.

H: I admire your dedication. It is a tough thing to give yourself a schedule and stick to it.

D: Thanks, I feel like writing is a part of me now, so I have to try everyday. I have all these ideas, they have to go somewhere.

H: Yes, you are most definitely a writer, and a great one at that.

D: Thanks for the encouragement! Some days, I believe you.

H: Aww, yeah, I get that. But you keep going, and that's what makes all the difference :)

D: My writing process is like grief, though. I've thought this many times. Somedays I think it's really good and I'm really satisfied with what I've accomplished. Other days I can re-read the same piece and think it's trash.

H: Oh, I guarantee this speaks to so many of us. And I've never thought of it like that, like grief. It is though.

D: Right. Like you look through a photo album and see someone you miss - some days you smile, other days you can't stop crying.

H: Exactly. That's fb memories for me on the daily. Any final thoughts on this one?

D: LOL, meeee too. No, not right now.

H: Great, let's go to one of your questions. How many unpublished books/works in progress do you have?

D: Ah, yes. This is something I always wonder, what people are working on. I have one untitled novel in the can, in the line edits phase. I am the world’s worst typist (I really am) so there’s cleanup on aisle 9. I have several rough drafts of short stories, some are walking around in my head, others have made their way onto the page, living on a thumb drive.

H: Clean up in aisle 9...haha!! I'm impressed and thrilled for you that you've pressed on and gotten that far!!

Care to share what genre for the novel? No worries if you don't.

D: Technically, it's a romance. You have to know what shelf you want to be on when you query literary agents. But it's not a cheesy romance. It's passionate, with obstacles that divide the two main characters, and the obstacles they must overcome.

H: Yes, you do! Romance is a tricky genre. I know some publishers are very strict with what happens and when. I have no doubt you've created rich characters and a compelling storyline!

D: Thanks. We will see :) There's certain expectations in every genre, to be classified in that genre. I've learned that, too.

H: Very true. Are the short stories only for Vocal then or do you hope to publish them as a compilation?

D: I hadn't really thought about a compilation. That's a possibility! Right now, they are homeless ghosts. They might end up on Vocal too.

H: Aww, but they have you to love and nurture them until they're ready.

Speaking of being ready, have you had anyone beta read your novel yet?

D: I have two beta readers. Each gave some good feedback, plot holes, some things to clear up. I'm working on my list.

H: That's awesome! That is something that I'll be excited about but scared witless when/if it comes time.

D: Yeah. It really makes you vulnerable. I struggle with that, not necessarily the blowback, but just the trying.

H: I think that makes you very normal and relatable.

D: Thanks, I am too stubborn to quit.

H: Do you mind me asking how long you've been working on the project?

D: Not at all. I started the novel a few years ago for NaNoWriMo. It didn't get finished until early last year. I started writing with a book. Short stories are a new frontier for me.

H: Oh wow! I've contemplated participating in that but the time of year is the worst writing time for me as far as actual hours I can dedicate. Short stories are definitely their own thing.

D: Yeah they are a different beast. Same formula but in a shorter space. That's where the magic happens though.

You should def punch one out. I loved your magical realism story. You started with a prophecy - it was brilliant!

H: I have one started and plan to get back to it this summer. Thank you for that :)

D: I hope you continue it! It's got legs.

H: Thank you!! I did enjoy writing that one and had so many ideas. Damn it, this is about you...pulls virtual brakes and jumps tracks, lol!!

Anything further you'd like to add to this one? Other than maybe a release date, hahaha

D: Lol, you're the boss. I hope to have the edits done by the end of summer. That's really too long, but I think it's a realistic timeline.

H: I appreciate choosing realistic timelines. Then if it happens earlier, it feels so great! I'll be looking forward to hearing about it soon.

D: Right? Under promise and over deliver?

H: Yes! Well, this ties quite nicely into question 3 if you're ready?

D: Sure, I'm ready.

H: Great! Are there any genres you tend to shy away from reading or writing? Where you're like, nope, not today or any other day, haha.

D: I'm not a huge sci-fi fan. That's the one genre that I can't get into for some reason. I enjoy a good sci-fi movie, though.

H: It's funny that there always seems to be at least one that people don't care for. I wonder if there's someone that likes it all?

D: Good question!

H: Have you done the sci-fi challenges on Vocal? I can't remember at the moment, sorry about that.

* sneaks over to your Vocal profile in another tab *

D: Lol, I did submit for the fantasy and sci-fi challenges. Last year, after I short-listed (along with, what, 1025 other people, yay us!) in the Vocal Fiction awards, I got the free year on Vocal. I wanted to capitalize on the opportunity, so I vowed I’d enter every challenge. And I did in 2022. Every one! Even the non-fiction ones. I learned so much about myself, the importance of setting deadlines and grinding the story out. And non-fiction is not my hat either. The free year is almost up, but I plan to remain on Vocal. I’m pickier on the challenges I participate in, where I invest my time and energy.

H: Oh wow!! That's wonderful. Growth is what it's all about. And that's so cool you got that free year. Kudos to you for being on that short list. And at some point, you have to get pickier with how you invest your time.

I just looked and remember your sci-fi one now :)

D: It is all about growth. I can really tell a difference in my fiction now, compared to when I began. Growth and constantly learning something new. I just read about Saturn Return, where the planet returns to the same degree as when you were born. Apparently it happens the first time when you're about 27 years old. I was like, shit, that explains so much.

H: I completely agree! Just trying new things and working at the craft is such an important thing! I love that you can see and feel the difference in your writing :)

D: Thanks, it flows easier too, some days, that is. I hope I'm not tanking this, lol.

H: No! This is great! And I had no idea about Saturn Return. I had my first child at 27.

D: OMG. It's the wildest thing! There's another one, about mid to late 50's. Now that we know what to look for.

H: What all happens? Is it every 27 years?

D: Yeah, there abouts. In astrology, it's a major coming of age moment on that first one. The second is a stage where you're finally free to do what you want. The third one signifies wisdom.

H: Shit, I need the second stage like right now.

D: LMAO, right me too! If you had your first child at 27, that's the real push to enter adulthood (Saturn return). It's wild, isn't it?

H: Yes, that's completely wild!

D: I read about it somewhere.

H: I love that neither of us were wanting the wisdom stage...hahaha.

D: Lol, that wisdom stage means creaky bones and thicker glasses to me.

H: Pretty much!! No thanks. So question 4?

D: Sure.

H: We'll jump to one of yours again :) Which are some great questions, by the way!!

D: Lol, it feels like more than 4.

H: Well, there were sub-questions...it gets a little muddled with me in charge.

D: I feel like I'm talking too much. I should have warned you some way.

H: You are supposed to talk a lot. Otherwise I could just write stuff about myself. A big exposition about all things Heather. Meh.

D: I'd totally read that interview! Inhale it!

H: Maybe I will interview myself...that would be so messed up.

D: That is actually a genius idea! I've told you this before, but you are a great interviewer. That would be a good slant, to interview yourself.

H: Thank you! I'm kinda concerned how I would answer myself, not gonna lie.

Okay, back to the question. Do you believe in writer's block?

D: Yeah, I do. In my experience, some days it flows so easy. Funny enough, if it’s raining or a storm is brewing, I am inspired. I can get several pages written. Other days, the words don’t make sense. I get sidelined easy those days, end up clicking on all the different kind of bird feeders on Amazon. I’ve learned to walk away and come back to try again later. Take a break and watch the birds eat, or go for a walk. Kick up some endorphins. Or wait for it to rain, lol.

H: I love your answer! I am the opposite. If it's raining, I don't feel inspired. How cool that you do! Why do you think that is?

D: It must have something to do with the creative process, and we all have our own. I've wondered if I somehow feel like the rain shields me somehow, and that I can just free write.

H: Oh, I am in love with that idea!! I appreciate how you know when to walk away and try again later rather than frustrate yourself. That takes a lot of self-awareness :)

D: It's so easy to get intimidated and just turn the computer off and go do something else. But we are writers, we have to write. I have reconciled that within myself.

Some days it ain't easy.

H: What great advice!! And no, some days it isn't easy. I find that I just work on something else...I always have about 6 tabs open of WIP's and move along until something grabs me.

D: That's a great insight to your process! See, that's interesting. Munch on what's eating at you, in a way. That must explain how you crank out so much quality work!

H: Thank you :) So, have you ever had a really long bout where just nothing was coming to you? Or do you work through it no matter what?

D: I've always got ideas, but not a complete concept. I'll spitball some options, see if any take root. If it doesn't get off the ground, I don't fight it. I just move on to one that does.

H: You've got such a creative mind!! I envy that.

D: Thanks, I think you do as well.

H: You are quite welcome! (and thank you)

Alright, ready for a fun one? Not that these weren't all fun...hahahah

D: I'm having a blast! Ready.

H: YAY!! Me too! I sincerely enjoy seeing how you think :)

D: It's a circus. I get easily distracted.

H: Squirrel! Also, circuses are fun. Ok, so what is your favorite hobby?

D: That is a fun question. My favorite hobby is my little garden I've got planted. Yep, it's that time of year. I've done huge gardens in the past, but now I have two raised beds. I'm growing two kinds of tomatoes, bell and banana peppers, romaine lettuce, cucumbers, and broccoli right now. I go out every morning and afternoon to tend to it.

H: Wow, yum!

D: It's fun to watch things grow. Last year was the first year to do raised beds and lettuce. But I found a YouTube channel for how to harvest lettuce, the 'cut and come again' method (saucy!) so I had the makings for salad for a few months in my backyard.

I'll find a pic from last year. Everything is too small right now.

photo taken by Dana Stewart

H: HAHAHAH!!! Great method, BTW. I haven't had a large garden for a few years. I miss being able to grab things from a garden.

Yes!!! Send it to me whenever. I'd love to see it and maybe add to the story?

D: Sure, I'll find a photo. Like a proud parent, I took a lot of pics.

H: I wholeheartedly approve!! You're much further south than I am, so do you need to start the plants inside, or you just rock and roll right from the start?

I probably just showed my age with that last rock and roll bit...bahaha.

D: I did seed starters last year, my tomato plants ended up too leggy. I ended up getting the most out of plants I purchased.

I totally got the reference! I think we are close in age.

H: Ahh, that is easier for sure.

D: I'm zone 7a, we just had our last freeze, believe it or not. I was always raised that Good Friday was a good day to put in the garden. It's the absolute best thing, growing your own stuff! I would have said it wasn't economical for small gardens, but then grocery prices spiked and supply chains buckled, so...

Photo taken by Dana Stewart

H: Wow, I would not have thought you'd still be getting a freeze this late in the year. And yes, it has become quite economical! My neighbor grows produce for local grocery stores and he often times gives us buckets of tomatoes and neck pumpkins, sometimes zucchini. They taste sooo good fresh out of the garden. I love that you have your gardening as another creative outlet!

And yay for getting the reference!!

D: Nice! Buckets of tomatoes are awesome. I made tomato sauce and used it all winter. My neighbors and I swap a lot of stuff. Once zucchini takes off, it is game on! Free zucchini for everybody.

H: Also, you just got a Top Story for the piece that Cindy added to the Raise Your Voice Thread! Congratulations!! Yay for community!

D: Holy Shit. YAY for community! That's such a thrill. It won't ever get old.

H: I am so happy for you!

D: I had to peek at Vocal. EEK! I absolutely LOVED that story. And it went nowhere.

H: Peek away! Aww, but now it's getting more recognition and I'll be reading it later today. I don't think I saw that one yet.

D: No worries. It's one of the longer short stories I've written. Nearly 4k words, if I remember. So it's a commitment to read.

H: Eh, I read stupid fast, so long stories don't put me off. I never look at the reading time. I just let the page open at the end so it registers. I'm looking forward to reading it.

D: Good deal. Appreciate your eyeballs.

H: My pleasure :) Ok, are you good for another question?

D: I'm good.

H: Wonderful! Have you ever considered writing under a pseudonym? (I love this question of yours so much!)

D: Really? I tried to come up with something entertaining, when you asked for questions.

H: I was super happy with what you came up with.

D: Oh good. I did put some thought into it.

I always wonder why people choose to use a pseudonym. I did consider it. Anonymity is a temptation, and I think it would be liberating to create a persona. I totally understand why it makes sense for a lot of writers. If you’re an elementary school teacher that likes to write erotica – yeah, that could be problematic. But then I reconciled the practicality, weighed the pros and cons. Sink or swim, love me or hate me, it’ll be me.

H: And I love your attitude...love me or hate me, it'll be me :)

D: Thanks, it has taken me all this time, but I'm taking my armor off.

H: What a liberating thing to experience! I think I see pseudonyms as tools when authors are known for a specific genre and want to try something else without the pressure of people being pissed they aren't putting out what they're known for...does that make any sense?

D: Yeah, good point there too. if you want to write a mystery, you've got the brand. I'm scared shitless. But it makes me try the hardest.

H: I can understand both parts of that. It makes you so incredibly vulnerable.

D: Yes, it does.

H: I love how relatable that makes you :) Writing is a vulnerable thing to start with anyway.

D: You are so right about that, my friend.

H: Can't wait to see the Real Dana Stewart on the shelves someday.

D: Ah, thanks, that means the world!

H: YAY! That leads me to this question then. What do you want readers to know about you as an author?

D: Whoa, ok. Let me preface this by saying that writing what you know is the biggest lie ever told. That I'm the kind of author that wants to deliver solid storytelling, those reads that keep you awake at night. There's so many flavors of writers, just like in the movies. You've got the art house films that get you in the feels, then there's the big budget thrillers that keep you engaged and on the edge of your seat. I'm hoping my fiction is perceived as somewhere in the middle of that.

H: Well damn! That was a really insightful response. I love that middle ground!

D: The introspective questions are the hardest.

H: Yes, that's why I get to do the asking, lol.

D: Hahaha, you're good at this.

H: I've got the easy part.

D: I like professional make believe. Talking about myself is hard.

H: And you are so right...I say such a similar thing all the time...it depends on what you want out of writing. It depends on what you want to make readers feel.

D: YES! Love the way you put that. It all goes back to what I mentioned earlier about passion.

H: So true. I appreciate that you've trusted me to talk with :)

D: I feel like I know you, or part of you, from reading your work. I appreciate this opportunity and your time immensely.

H: Aww, that means so much to me! Geez, now I'm getting all sappy. It is my absolute pleasure. I see so much talent on the Vocal platform and in the fb groups and want to know more about the creators. I greatly thank you for your time!!

D: I agree, there is no shortage of talent on Vocal, that's for sure. We have a lot in common, you and I. I hope you got something good off this.

H: I was kinda nervous about doing this interview today. It's the first one I've done that is with someone I know but don't know. If that makes sense. I'm not some hard-hitting journalist. I just do what I want. I love to joke and tease which doesn't always translate. So thank you for being awesome about this!

And yes! I knew before you were a generous and talented person, but this has been so fun and enlightening.

D: Totally makes sense. We know of each other through our work. I admire yours so much. I did not want to miss out.

H: I'm so glad you said yes. Are there any last thoughts you have for readers? No worries if not, but I like to give the opportunity.

D: Thanks. Yes, I have a parting thought. I have this framed (I can take a photo to send to you) but it says this: At any given moment you have the power to say this is not how the story is going to end.

I see it everyday. It's a good reminder. For writing and life.

H: Wow, mic drop. That's an amazing saying!

D: Empowering.

H: Very.

D: I'll clean off my desk and take a photo of it. :) There's currently three coffee mugs surrounding it.

H: Perfect! And no need to clean off the space unless you really want to. I have a coffee mug obsession!

Photo taken by Dana Stewart

H: And now for the final last secret question....drum roll....what's your favorite swear word?

D: Oh good, save the easy one for last. Fuck.

H: Hahahaha! Excellent choice, mine too! And now we're finally fucking done.

D: Fuck yeah. Thanks so much, Heather. I appreciate you!

H: You're welcome and ditto. I had sooooo much fun!

D: Oh girl, so did I!

H: YAY! My goals with this series are to have fun and showcase your mad talent, so check and check.

D: I look forward to reading all about it. It's a great series, by the way.

~

H: So the last secret secret question should have been, which is the best generation? Gen X, baby!!!

D: Hands down. We rock!

H: Damn right, we do!

____________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed this small peek into Dana's writing life. I highly encourage everyone to check out her fantastic work and subscribe. I'm sharing one of her short stories that gripped me from beginning to end:

~

Note: I was given permission to use the full chat string and change any misspellings. Chat interview conducted on April 20, 2023.

CreatorsAuthors
45

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (38)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Such a fun and insightful interview!! I finally had a chance to sit down and read ❤️ Dana, it was so impressive to learn your process, thoughts, and about your vegetable garden!! Also, saturn return was really interesting - I’ve heard of this before. At 27, I took off to live in Costa Rica for two years 😅 Heather, your skill is honed as ever - you are the Queen of interviews! ❤️ Such an engaging piece!! 🤗

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    I don't think I've ever read any of Dana's stories. Which is a fault of my own. I do enjoy the bit about writing being able to flow freely. I relate to the part about her having the story mainly revolving around a scene of conflict. I like to think that's what happens with most writers. Even if there's no external conflict such as a fight, there's a scene that the writer must reach, and they must reach it as rationally as possible within the constraints of that world. I know for the tall tail challenge, one scene specifically crawled into my head, like the intrusive thought that it is, and it would not leave until I wrote it. For larger stories, like a series, I have taken to writing outlines for it, and even using flowcharts. Especially when it's over a long period of time, it helps me to organize the timeline, especially if I want certain scenes to overlap. A lot of writers write about a current or future scene, and then have to make the past line up with that. Sequels have prequels (or something like that). I enjoyed her mentioning about growing food in her own garden. Personally, I think that everybody should do something like that. At one point and time in their life, they should grow a plant, especially a plant that they can eat. Whether it's a vine like strawberries, grapes, or tomatoes, a bush, or even a tree. It makes one think about the amount of care it goes into themselves, let alone another living thing, another living being.

  • Mohammed Darasi12 months ago

    Great interview, with great questions! I'm just starting to read Dana's works so it's great seeing this interview and getting more insight on her as a writer and a person. Thank you for this Heather, and I'll be checking out the rest of the interviews in this series.

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    I love this series! Thank you Heather and Dana for sharing with us this engaging interview. It was an effortless read. Heather, you seem so comfortable and witty. You’ll be interviewing Oprah in no time. Dana, I loved getting to know the mind behind the work. It makes reading an author’s work more exciting when you know things about them. Thanks again!!!

  • Another great interview with two of my favorite writers.

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Whoohoo! This was an enlightening interview. I struggle to write every day and I'm so glad to see someone doing so even though it is hard. Makes me want to get back to the page. Excellent interview as always Heather and congratulations to both you and Dana on your Top Story!

  • Joseph 12 months ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Heather- Amazing interview, as always! I’m so happy you interviewed Dana!! Dana, you are so awesome and totally fun, as I imagined you would be! It was great learning more about you. You are a phenomenal writer and I can’t wait to see your book(s) on the shelves! Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Great interview, and a great interviewee. She also has a great name and wears a hat, so...😂 Seriously, I'm a huge fan of her writing and it turns out we have several things in common. Great job, Ladies! P.S. I almost forgot: Congratulations on the Top Story! Not bad for a couple of Gen X'ers!

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Another brilliant interview!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations. Well deserved for both of you. As I said this was one of your best, it was so free and fun.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Great interview! You are both so talented yet down to earth. 💖 I love gardening too.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I need to save these until I get home. That way I can get a bevvie, snuggle into a chair, and pretend I'm sitting someplace and chatting with you and your interviewees. Great piece!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Omg my heart leaped when I saw Dana's name. She is so spunky, so much fun & such a colossal talent! Nice work HH & a huge congrats to you on your Top Story. Gen X Stand Up We in here! LOL 😂

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your very relatable top story, I enjoyed this honest conversation with Dana & you so much!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Yay!! Congrats to you both on an excellent Top Story!!

  • Awesome ✨💖📝😉Congratulations on Your Top Story❗❗

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Congrats on another deserving Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your excellent interview and Top Story

  • Testabout a year ago

    As usual excellent interview Heather! I love Dana's work it's so nice to get a look at her process and getting to know more about her!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Another rocking interviews!!! Loved it💕😊💖

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Wow! Loved this interview! First off Gen X does rock and definitely agree on the swear word 👏 Dana is an awesome writer and Heather (also awesome) really a great interview. Can't wait to buy and read Dana's book. ❤️

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Heather, thank you so much for asking me to do an interview. I was so honored to be included in your series. You really have a knack for being personable, so much that I just relaxed right into it. You ROCK!

  • Love these interviews and getting to know the talent of Vocal

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.