Interview logo

Are My Vocal Stories Fact or Fiction?

I'm glad I keep my readers guessing

By Catherine KenwellPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
The author at a book signing, 2019

I’m a writer.

I’ve been published in countless international horror anthologies, and I have contributed to several Chicken Soup for the Soul editions. My writing career covers, well, everything… from horror to creative non-fiction, opinion pieces, biographies, and medical articles.

In 2020, I co-authored (with Heather Down) a Canadian bestseller, Not Cancelled: Canadian Kindness in the Face of COVID-19. Our book garnered national attention; it was indeed a wonderful opportunity to share stories of compassion and gratitude from across our country.

After 35 years of working at jobs that paid the bills and then some, I finally committed to the profession I’ve always wanted, although I knew I'd have to forego a six-figure salary to become a starving artist. But my favorite part of my long communications career was feature writing, and as my roles became more senior and strategic and less hands-on creative, I lamented my lack of writing opportunities.

Last week I hit a different kind of milestone, something I’ve been experimenting with while working on a couple of books.

I’ve hit 2000 story reads on Vocal! That translates to a LOT of viewers reading my work, whether it be short horror fiction or non-fiction or mental health stories.

That makes my heart happy, because my guiding principle in story-sharing is impacting my readers—helping them understand they’re not alone, reminding them of shared history, or revealing the ups and downs of post-concussion syndrome and PTSD. With my horror fiction, I’ve done my job if you’re afraid to turn out the lights or you simply wonder, ‘wow, could that be true?’

I hope my writing is a camaraderie, a connection, and a bit of a welcomed diversion.

To that end, I’ve shared my work with other concussion survivors, and started conversation amongst a few related online groups. I’ve been honored to read several anecdotes from people who see themselves in the life I describe. And I’ve been able to explain psychological therapies from a patient’s perspective, which my therapist liked so much she asked to share it with her new patients. I’m grateful to know I can make someone’s life a little less daunting.

Recently, my short story DANNY was short-listed for Vocal’s Fiction Awards. That’s super exciting, because I’m keen to write about the type of childhood I had, growing up in rural Canada. The ‘rural gothic’ setting naturally lends itself to creative storytelling.

A few people who read DANNY were convinced it was a true story—pretty cool, right? That, to me, is the best compliment. Of course, while DANNY is inspired by my rural childhood, it is definitely not factual. Lately, even Vocal published one of my true stories under Fiction, because I’m sure it sounds too incredible to be true! In my opinion, good writing should blur the lines between fact and fiction and leave you wondering, ‘what really happened’?

I’m so grateful for the number of tips I’ve received on Vocal. Most are anonymous, so I can’t mention anyone lest I call out the wrong people. You generous folks, you know who you are, and I’m forever grateful. Vocal itself doesn’t pay a lot—a few bucks here and there; so, your generous tips have provided me with enough for a Timmie’s a few times a week. Writing fuel! And the nice thing about tips? The money goes directly to my bank account!

Tips also tell me we’re connecting in a profound way, that you’ve found my words and thoughts compelling or reassuring, or perhaps even just funny. Maybe I’ve given you a bit of motivation to do something daring. THAT means more to me than anything.

It's easy to get tips...even for someone like me who doesn't like to ask. When I share my stories (and I share them to social media and my special interest groups) I almost always end my preamble with "Reading is free but tips are appreciated!" I'm quite surprised at how many people toss some cash my way if they like a story, and it's usually more than a reader would pay for one of my e-books. It's heartening to know you've positively impacted someone's day.

COVID has certainly reminded us that as humans we crave connection, that we can never overestimate the power of a hug, and that we all wish to be heard. We need to understand our role in the scheme of things.

Thank you for allowing me into your world. Thanks for reading.

Authors
4

About the Creator

Catherine Kenwell

I live with a broken brain and PTSD--but that doesn't stop me! I'm an author, artist, and qualified mediator who loves life's detours.

I co-authored NOT CANCELLED: Canadian Kindness in the Face of COVID-19. I also publish horror stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.