Interview logo

A Winterview With Heather

Step Five In Gary Ragnarsson's Frozen Primrose Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Poppies By The Bridge A Nightcafe Creation By Heather

Introduction

This is step five of Gary Ragnarsson's Frosted Primrose Challenge. In this part, I chose somebody from the Vocal community and interviewed them about their experience throughout winter. Actually Heather volunteered and her profile is here:

The music is "Jingle Bells" by Ella Fitzgerald. A seasonal song from one of Heather's favourites.

Read all about the challenge here:

Winterview With Heather

  • What Heralds The Start Of Winter For You?

I think it feels like Winter once all the leaves have fallen and the temperatures begin to drop, so around the end of November/beginning of December.

  • Do You Draw Inspiration From Winter As A Season Or Do Other Seasons Inspire You More Or In A Similar Way?

Autumn is hands down my favorite season. I always feel more alive. The colors, the cool crisp air, getting to wear layers, feeling the sun's warmth without overheating. All those things invigorate me. Winter is probably my second favorite as I love snow and Christmastime. I despise Summer and Spring is its cheerful yet annoying cousin.

  • How Do You Celebrate The Winter Holiday? Do You Stay At Home? Do You Have A Favourite Film, Game Or Event That Is Always There For The Holiday?

Our family celebrates by just being home together. We have few relatives left to celebrate with, so I'm just happy if all my children are home. As they get older, I know this will change, but for now, I try to appreciate every moment with them. We all love the Christmas decorations and put them up right after Thanksgiving. We have an old stone house with 18" window sills, so with the help of my very talented mother-in-law, there are a lot of festive scenes filling up these spaces. We always bake lots of cookies (because cookies are the best) and watch Polar Express on Christmas Eve. One year, we were generously given tickets to ride the Polar Express train based in New Jersey and the kids still remember it.

  • What Does The New Year Mean To You?

Anymore? The New Year means something will go wrong in January. I try to be optimistic about a new start, yet there has not been a January in quite some time where something or someone has not died. So, I don't dread it so much as I just want it to be over. I do appreciate getting back into some kind of routine after the holidays though.

  • When It Snows Do You Enjoy It? Have You Ever Built A Snowman Or Made A Snow Angel?

I love it. A peace just settles in my soul as I watch it fall. I love to see all our trees and pasture covered in a blanket of it. Watch the birds at our feeders stand out in such a striking contrast. I don't even mind shoveling, and I've done it quite a few times this year already. We used to go sledding and build snowmen and snowladies all the time. My daughter was out just a week ago making snow angels. On a few occasions, my husband has made campfires so the kids can eat snow and warm up, lol. One time I made a snow angel on New Year's Eve at midnight. I was also heavily downing margaritas, so...yeah. I was not dressed for snow!

  • What Positives Do You Take From The Winter Season?

That everything needs a rest from growing. There needs to be a time when the world's not all green and pushing for more. A time to just relax before the need to grow cycles again. A time of separation so that we can appreciate the heat and longer days when they come.

  • What Music Makes You Think Of Winter And The Associated Holidays? Do You Have A Favourite Song Or Piece Of Music, And From That A Favourite Musical Artist Or Composer?

I love Christmas music! I put it on the moment it comes on the radio. And yes, that means in the beginning of November. It makes me happy and fills me with such joy. It brings back so many memories and my kids will sing along with me. I remember my grandma and mom singing them too. I recognize that many people get annoyed by hearing it before Thanksgiving. I want to remind them that there are no real Thanksgiving songs out there. Come up with some and maybe I'll listen to them alongside my Christmas music...hahaha! As for a favorite artist...too many to name, but anything by Burl Ives, Ella Fitzgerald, or any of the classic crooners melts my heart.

  • Do Your Family And Pets Prefer To Be Indoors Or Out When Snow Comes?

Hmm, well it depends what kind of snow to be honest. I mean I don't love extreme weather, so if it's super windy, that's a no from me. Otherwise, it feels refreshing to stand out in a winter wonderland! If my kids have to drive or work in it, they would probably say they'd want to be indoors, lol. It feels so good to eat soup, drink something warm and sit by a fire though too. My dog usually loves the snow (but despises rain).

  • What Is The Food That Resides On Your Table For Meals During The Holiday

Always homemade mashed potatoes and gravy, usually a rump roast or turkey wrapped in bacon and lots of seafood. My husband is a pescatarian, my daughter can't have dairy and my one son has food texture issues, so it's always challenging to come up with meals that suit everyone, but I think I've gotten pretty good at it over the years. And we're big on desserts, so there's got to be something tasty to go with the big meals 🌝

  • Does Winter Inspire Anty Particular Type Of Creativity In You? Art, Music, Writing Or All Of Them?

Despite Winter being a season I enjoy, it's rarely a creative time for me in the sense that I usually have very limited writing opportunities. I'm busy trying to enjoy all the activities with my family and focusing on making memories with them. I do feel a bit creative though in the gifts I find for them, in the baking that I do, in the Christmas cards I come up with and all the decorating that we do.

What Heralds The End Of Winter For You?

Bugs. When I start seeing them outside, I realize my time of reprieve is over. I am a literal bug buffet. I hate it. They love me. Also, when things begin to grow, we all start with the sneezing and itchy eyes. As lovely as it is to watch the rebirth happen, it usually means allergies have arrived, lol.

VocalCreatorsCelebritiesAuthors

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I've read many articles that claim it's dangerous to eat snow. But I've also read many that claims there's nothing wrong with it. As our beloved Nerd, I hope Heather can answer this for us 😁😁😁

  • We're so alike in so many ways, Heather. Except for Polar Express (my wife hates it, I thought it was okay but not one of my favorite Tom Hanks vehicles) & margheritas (never learned to like alcohol). We're pretty much in agreement on everything here. "Over the River & Through the Woods" as well as any of the harvest or thanksgiving hymns work well, though there never seems to be much market for them on the radio. Heat in the summer is hard for me to take, though if we were at the beach or playing sports I wouldn't mind so much. (My wife doesn't go in for either.) Spring is lovely, though it means no more snow & heat is on the way (along with bugs & allergies; I mean, mosquitoes--just why?).

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    This was a wonderful bit of fun, so thank you for asking and big props to Gary for his inspiration :) Thank you for the wonderful song choice too!!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Great job for your first Vocal creator interview ❣️

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.