Humor logo

Tutor Position

My Cover Letter Series

By MPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
5
Tutor Position
Photo by Adam Winger on Unsplash

Dear ______ Tutors,

My name is ______, and (I'm applying for this job because I know a lot about teaching, which means I can be a great tutor. I honestly just need some extra cash because I can barely afford anything! Not even a freaking subway footlong.) I'm a Masters student at ______insert fancy college. I focus on leadership, creative development, post-production, and business models specifically designed for the creative sector. At heart, I'm a screenwriter and teacher who wants to know the business side of the entertainment industry. (Business HA! Apparently, I can't even get my own finances in order.) I would be a great asset to the _______ Tutors team because I value collaboration, creativity, and empathy. (I'm great at trauma bonding with others and forming a tight-knit team of hardworking individuals. I think outside of the box, maybe a little too outside the box. I'm also extremely sensitive.)

I graduated from the B.F.A Theatre Studies program at The University of Texas at Austin with a business certificate from the McCombs School of Business. (Again, how did I study business? Here I am applying for a second job. LOL, how did it end up this way??) My major taught me to implement arts integration in the classroom and participate in fieldwork where I've conducted creative literacy lessons for grades K-12. I have the ability and motivation to master and manage multiple high-priority projects (It's okay if this job stresses me out, just as long as I can afford some chicken nuggets while I cry.) and be adaptive to changing responsibilities. (I actually hate constantly adapting, but over the years, it's been a skill I've developed. Not because I want to, but because I keep putting myself in positions where I hit the ground running and running and running and running....)

During the Pandemic, I worked as a literacy teacher for _________ while coaching new hires and teaching children (I tried to quit many times.) I helped pioneer the online literacy teaching style in my region. (I may have fluffed this just a bit, but the supervisor person liked one of my teaching videos and used it at an all- staff meeting. I wasn't at that meeting because it was after work hours, and I was busy napping after my weekly cry.) My hard work led to me receiving co-teacher of the year! Something I was not expecting, especially during the Pandemic. (I had some serious family stuff happen, so I actually think they felt bad for me and gave me a little award.), As a teacher, I've mastered the skills of communication and organization. (I've been yelled at for not responding to a SLACK message fast enough. Why was I yelled at? Why, thank you for asking. It was over a kid forgetting their lunch in my classroom while I was trying to enjoy my lunch, but because they were crying and the lunch-aid didn't know where my classroom was, they got another teacher involved. My SLACK was going off while I was heating up my Lean Cuisine pizza, and then when they found me in the lunch room, I got an ear full as to why I needed to respond to my SLACK messages in a timely manner. Even though it was MY 15-minute lunch break, and they had like eight lunch-aids.) I believe clear communication is kindness, and I'm transparent and honest with my team.

I look forward to hearing back about the position.

Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,

_______________

*This is part of an entertaining series called My Cover Letter Series, where I go through my old cover letters and write out what I really wanted to say.

WitSatireGeneralFamily
5

About the Creator

M

A mix of my creative storytelling, and thoughts about the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Ms. M ~ Teacher-Teacher I Declare you may want to wait a bit on that 'ScreenWriting' Schtick - In my neighborhood they are all picketing; such a shame! btw; as a 'biz' law instructor forgive me for saying but too many "I's" in your Cover Letter - Brevity towards your Focus what you "Really want to Say" Jay

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    This is such a excellent, letter ♥️💕I glad you comment on my story, otherwise I would have miss another great writer on vocal. I just subscribe as well so I can receive notifications. Can I asked, What does the M stand for???

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    I love the humorous letters!!! In my opinion, it is therapeutic to the writer and the reader. Laughter, as they say, "Is the best medicine!"

  • MecAsaf9 months ago

    Fantastic work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.