Humor logo

Late Night Talk Show Intern

My Cover Letter Series

By MPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
9
This Kermit Gif pretty much sums it up.

Dear Late Night Talk Show People,

Oh God, I really want to work here.

My name is _______, and I'm seeking internships in entertainment development. (Me tell stories) At heart, I'm a performer, actress, and screenwriter. I'm curious about the business side of the entertainment industry because I one day want to lead the creative department of a film/television production company. (Even though I don't want to be, I'm great in administrative roles, and I force myself to be highly organized.) My collaboration, empathy, and authenticity values make me a great asset to the Late Night Team. I'm a fast learner, like IDK how to prove this other than the fact my high school graduation rank was 9/500...I guess that doesn't really prove anything other than I'm a try-hard. BUT can confidently say that I'm fun and your team would like me.

I grew up in a sizeable Hispanic household (There were 12 of us in one house.) in ____, Texas. As the youngest of three brothers and one sister (They bullied me from the day I was born), there was a competition in the family for the funniest storyteller. The winner of the best storyteller is my Dad, who I believe should have been an actor. That man fed me spoonfuls of drama each day. As I write this cover letter, my dad has decided he wants to help me in my job search. I didn't ask. He just decided this on his own, even though he has no idea what I want to do.

Dad just recommended an office receptionist job at an air conditioning company- I will not be applying.

Imagine that one scene from My Big Fat Greek Wedding when Toula tells her Dad she's going to college, and he starts to cry, "Why do you want to leave me?!" With all the drama, my Dad begged me not to leave for college(I seriously didn't make this up.) I am a graduate of the B.F.A Theatre Studies program at The University of Texas at Austin with a business certificate from the McCombs School of Business. My major taught me to implement arts integration in the classroom and participate in fieldwork where I've conducted creative literacy lessons for grades K-12. I have the ability and motivation to master and manage multiple high-priority projects and be adaptive to changing responsibilities. I once administered a ten-minute timed math test to 1st-graders who couldn't read while simultaneously giving first-aid to a little girl whose scab opened on her leg. There was a lot of blood, but all the kids passed their test!

Since teaching, I've pivoted my career into the entertainment industry to utilize my creative strengths. I know I'm applying for an internship after college, but no one told me that I should have been working internships while I was in college. I would love to work in late-night television because my passion has always been creating content that makes people laugh. Or at least make them lightly chuckle.

Sincerely,

________________

I pray that someone in the depths of your offices at least skims over my cover letter. A set of real eyes took 2 seconds to decide. "Eh, not quite what we're looking for, but nice try, kid." In case of a rigged computer system scanning through each document for keywords. I may or may not have added words in white font at the end of this cover letter.

*This is part of an entertaining series called My Cover Letter Series, where I go through my old cover letters and write out what I really wanted to say.

GeneralWitSatireFamily
9

About the Creator

M

A mix of my creative storytelling, and thoughts about the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Golden! Good job and congrats on top story!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Cool!!! Love this!!! Congratulations on your Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • S. C. Almanzar9 months ago

    "Imagine that one scene from My Big Fat Greek Wedding when Toula tells her Dad she's going to college, and he starts to cry, "Why do you want to leave me?!"" I went through a similar situation with my dad when I wanted to go to a college 8 hours away (I ended up going to a university an hour away from home). Anyways! This was hilarious, fantastic job. I love how you add in the italicized anecdotes, it really adds to it.

  • This was witty and am enjoyable read! ❤️✨🙏

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    this was interesting, thanks for sharing it with us.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.