Humans logo

Zona

A Book Review

By TangerinehippiestudiosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Zona: The Forbidden Land by Fred G. Baker is about a man named Dr. Grant Taylor who is summoned to Russia after his uncle is presumed dead. When he gets there he finds out things about his uncle that he never knew and falls in love with a beautiful woman named Irina. This book is full of adventure and mystery.

I love this book because the writer kept my full attention to the story. The whole time I was reading I was on the edge of my seat and had a difficult time putting it down. It had a little bit of everything from adventure to mystery and even a little bit of romance and humor. The characters were so relatable and intriguing. I felt a connection with each person's story and felt like I knew them or at least wanted to know them in real life.

The one thing I do not like about this book is that it is written in the first character. My main problem with that is the fact that it makes the story too one-sided. I feel that if it was written in the third person or switched views, I could have gotten even more out of the characters. However, that does not take away from the story too much as it is still very well-written.

I rate this book a 3 out of 4 stars. It was a great book and a wonderful read but there were some parts of the story that felt a little dry or dull. While some parts of the book dragged on with facts that I did not care about, I was still able to stick with it and enjoy the overall masterpiece. There were also some swear words that I do not condone in literature but every author has the right to use whatever kind of language they want in their writing. I did enjoy this book and appreciate the author's unique storytelling abilities.

I highly recommend this book to all readers who love adventure and mystery. It was full of all kinds of exciting twists and turns to keep the reader on their toes. While there were some romance and humor, it was definitely not the main focus of the story. So, I would not recommend this book to those looking for a romance or a comedy. Overall, it was very beautifully written and I enjoyed the adventure.

Here is a poem I wrote inspired by this story:

If you were mine I would protect you like a daughter

Not related by blood yet connected through love

If I were yours we would live upon the water

Sail with me if you dare to visit the land above

She is unique like the memories at night

Each one growing stronger than the dark

Every night as I imagine us my heart takes flight

I can take you on a journey let your soul embark

However allow me to apologize for the betrayal that I cause

I was not born nor was I always the man that you see

Please keep in mind that we all have our flaws

When I show you that the woman I am is not who I want to be

So while there are many of those who don't understand

I pray that you will ignore their stares and take my hand 

I would like to thank all of my readers for their support. I appreciate everyone who reads my book reviews and takes my opinions seriously and at their own discretion. I am mostly a creative writer and not a critic so this is a new writing experience for me and my audience.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Tangerinehippiestudios

☮️Inspired by the inspiration around me☮️Get inspired to change the world☮️Or take a look at mine☮️My aura is orange and bleeds throughout my words☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.