Humans logo

You Will Never Regret Being Kind

The Refillable Black Notebook Cover

By Nadira El KhangPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Three years ago was a different time. Sometimes when I remember that day, I wonder if it had just been by chance, or whether fate had planted me on that route. But nevertheless, I will never forget the wonders of that day. I had finished my classes for the day, I was a full-time student back then and I had started a business that sold my leather handicrafts I would make in my apartment.

I was on the train, on my way to a business meeting previously organized in Manhattan. This particular client wanted to see some of my black notebook leather covers, he was finalizing an order he had made earlier but hadn’t decided on a final design. Anyway, out of the corner of my eye, I saw a gorgeous old woman. She was all rugged up in her winter coat and scarf. She was holding a brightly decorated sign that read “It’s my birthday, give me a hug.” I smiled at the thought, it was a nice thought that random strangers could make someone else’s day so happy with a simple act of kindness. The train pulled roughly to a halt to let the next platform of passengers aboard.

Within the new group of passengers boarding the train, there was a lovely young girl. She had the biggest smile on her face and her cheeks were covered in crimson. Without a moment of hesitation, the young girl walked on over to the old woman and said with a pocket full of sunshine as she pulled the woman in a warm embrace, “Happy birthday, beautiful!” It was a moment as sweet as can be.

“Oh Lord, this is the first hug I got so far. You have just made my day.” The old woman responded, happy as can be. And at that moment, one random act of kindness was paid forward. The old woman had lit up like a schoolgirl with butterflies in her stomach, her smile wider than the girl’s if that was possible.

Before she walked away, the girl told the woman, “Never forget that there will always be someone that cares.” And with her final words said, she disappeared into the next carriage.”

The domino was stacked and tumbled over. Watching the old woman’s delight in one small kindness paid forward, I mustered enough courage to go over to her myself to wish her a bright birthday filled with nothing but moments of joy. I thought to myself that I must have been having a brain lapse as I decided instantaneously that I could give her one of the journals that I had been sporting with me on the train ride as a birthday present. I make my way over and maybe two footsteps away from her I say, “Wishing you a very happy birthday,” I reached my hand into my bag and pulled out one of the black leather notebook journals. “Here is a gift that I made with passion and love.”

She was so touched by my one act of kindness that a few tears trickled to the edge of her eyes in joy as she pulled me over into a bear-like hug. I can tell by the way she holds me in that hug a moment too long that she doesn’t want me to leave, but I do. I return to my seat down the carriage. I hadn’t realized that someone had been watching the entire encounter go down between the woman and me. A gentleman in a suit two seats over from me leans over in my direction. He asked with an interested gleam in his eye. “Excuse me,” he paused for only a moment, “do you really make these?” It was as if he was in great disbelief and pleasure at the same time.

“Yes, I do. In my apartment, Sir.” I quickly responded, fumbling a little with the bag full of leather samplings to reach my hand out in offering for him to shake.

Again, he paused. As if he was taking in the information analytically. “I am getting off at this stop, but can I have your contact information? I will reach out to you later tonight.” He rushed the words out of his mouth as the train pulled to a leaping halt. I fumbled in my pocket, digging for my business card and as the train doors swung open I was able to hand him the card. He nodded his head in an appreciative manner saying, “Thank you,” before stepping out of the train and the doors shut behind him.

I replied, “Have a good day!” In case he could still hear me. I was shocked, dumbfounded even.

So much so, that I turned to another man and asked him, “Did you just see that?” The man shrugged his shoulders at me as if to say no. This had turned out to be an amazing day. I then went to meet the client that I had organized to meet and went home. I was buzzing with excitement and anticipation.

That evening I noticed that I had received an email from the gentleman that I had met on the train. His name was David, and it turned out that he had searched for my website. He ended up requesting an order of refillable leather covers for a black notebook that was totaled at $20,000.

He had ordered it as a Christmas gift for all of his employees with the company’s unique logo on it. I guess it really does go to show that one random act of pure kindness will get paid back to you in the end. I mean, that day truly changed my life.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nadira El Khang

My name is Nadira, I live in New York City and I am a handmade leather goods designer including black notebook covers :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.