Humans logo

You'll Never Believe What Happened To Change My Perception About Chasing Your Dreams.

Dream Killers Beware

By Aunt NellPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2

From the very beginning I knew I was destined for something much greater than where life had taken me. We all have our dreams and our dream killers. Those are people who instill fear or misguided information that your dreams would never work out and it's not worth the risk. That summer was no different than any other. Same ole routines with the same ole town and same ole people. Working, paying bills, being as responsible as I could. You know, "living the dream" and being a productive part of our society where dreams wait while we keep living the same life as yesterday.

If I could just get my hands on some cash I could make it all happen. I've told myself that a thousands times. Every time I got a little extra cash flow, there was always something in my normal American grown-up dream nickeling and diming me to death until there was nothing left. Nothing left of my dreams either. Who the hell wanted this as a child? Not me that's for damn sure!

I had just moved for the sixth time in four years because finding affordable housing for someone single with no kids or disability is damn near impossible. There were no breaks for me and trying to see the positive in all situations can be so exhausting. There are days you just want to throw in the towel, cuss everyone out and disappear. Again, in this world you have to have money in order to really disappear. Money, money, money! Seems in most situations you are damned if you do and damned if you don't. I have money problems but who doesn't? It's not like it's made me bitter or anything.

I finally stumbled across this piece of property that was within my budget. Would I actually for the first time in years have an opportunity to do the things I dream about? It was a cute two story Victorian farmhouse and had been in the owner's family for generations. Roy and Olivia were the name of the owners and they owned a horse farm that ran adjacent to the property I was about to move into. Roy's mamma had passed recently and he'd rather rent the place than sell it since it held so much history for him. My heart went out to him and Olivia but I couldn't help to be ecstatic I was going to be living high on the hog for once.

They never had any children of their own and he just couldn't part with the old homestead that had been built by his great grandfather's own hands. I went to put the money down to lock it in place and Roy gave me the low down on a few things. It started to choked me up a bit when he got this far away look in his eyes and told me, "Life has a way of getting away from you when you are constantly living out someone else's dream. Doing what's right by obligations definitely has it's blessings but it has a way of burying one's dreams all while life passes you by. All I ask is you take care of the place, and don't bring any drama onto my property that could spook the horses. I won't hesitate to kick you right out on your ass or pull my shotgun on a mouthy mother fucker who's disturbing my peace. Here's the keys. Oh, if you find anything you'd like it's yours; we've already taken anything sentimental when we cleaned out the place." My heart went out to him and the man definitely had my respect but a shotgun, what?! I mean, I know people have and use those but he wouldn't mind pulling it on a mouthy mother fucker? Should I possibly be a little worried about this guy? All I could do is smile and nod in response as this conversation with myself went rolling through my head. I took the keys and simply told him, "There shouldn't be any problems and thanks, I appreciate you giving me this opportunity." He nodded and started walking away. You could tell by the way he held himself he was a proud man but the years of working in the sun and worrying himself to death marched across his face. His eyes did have a kindness behind them though so I wasn't going to worry about him possibly being a lose cannon. I'll just see it as a possible rescue if I come across the wrong kind of man again.

I had been living here for a few months when I finally ventured into the two bedrooms at the top of the stairs. They both were filled with antique furniture and what I would think could possibly be sentimental items. He did say I could take what I wanted but it just didn't sit well with me to go nosing around until I had asked. I tried to give them the peace I felt Roy was talking about so it took awhile to run into one of them. I was kind of glad it was Olivia I had the chance meeting with. She let me know, " If Roy said it, he meant it and for me to have fun. To be honest, I have no desire to go through any of those things nor do I want them in my house. His mother hated me and made my life a living hell all those years. He knows how I felt and I am not ashamed to say I'm glad she's buried in the ground so I never have to hear anymore of her criticism." I simply smiled, told her thanks and kept my thoughts to myself. I was so sorry I asked her but now I have an adventure! See, I kept seeing this little door peeping out behind the furniture on that back wall. There was this urge to get to it and investigate. I couldn't get it out of my head. I know, how cliche. I'm sure it's intrigue had been planted from all the books and movies I grew up watching but there was an actual door! Maybe it was a portal to another dimension or maybe there were love letters from a forbidden love affair that started a family feud. I got it, there's jars filled with family money that is now all mine because they don't want anything out of the house, right?! I have too much time on my hands and a huge imagination. I was definitely having fun though. I started feeling a bit silly for being this excited over a freaking door and it hit me; I really need a life! I'll calm myself down and start on it tomorrow morning since it's Saturday and I don't have to work. Of course, I wouldn't want to unleash something in the dark either. So, there's that and the real reason I'm making myself wait. Note to self: I also watch too many horror films.

I woke up early and went straight to work moving all that dusty furniture. Luckily for me there was only a small latch holding it closed. I lifted it out of its loop and proceeded to open the door very slowly. I think the anticipation had me so worked up I was actually holding my breath. I pulled the chain to turn on the light and I couldn't believe what I saw right before my very own eyes. This was just my luck! It was filled with wall to wall boxes of old newspapers. I laughed so hard I about peed myself! Just when I turned to leave and switch the light off something caught my eye. Among all the newspapers was a leather bound black notebook. It was just kind of sticking out wanting to be found. I'm actually surprised it caught my eye since I was so disappointed. I grabbed it, turned the light off and latched that door back shut.

Later that evening I opened the notebook and the words I read took the breath right out of me. Olivia, the $20,000 you were left in Roy's fathers Will is hidden within each page of these newspapers. I knew you were being unfaithful to my son Roy but I never dreamed it was with my dear sweet Charles. He confessed his indiscretions on his death bed. Happy hunting you lazy, no good, piece of white trash Whore! Think of it as payment for your services!

I suddenly knew exactly why I was being led to get into that room. She still didn't want Olivia to have that money or for her son to find out. They both said I could keep anything I wanted and since I will be the one cleaning out those old newspapers I guess old dear sweet mamma would rather I have it.

I worked on that room the rest of the weekend and by the end I counted exactly $20,000. It was a dream come true and I never felt guilty about keeping it either. Besides, shortly after I found that treasure Roy passed away. Olivia put the whole place up for sale and I got that beautiful house for next to nothing. She said it was because I helped her clean up all those newspapers her mother n law collected. She'd been trying to force Olivia into cleaning that room until her dying day. One woman's trash is another woman's treasure. That's a fact!

Circumstances can always change. Dreams can come true; sometimes in the form of an unlikely source. So, keep believing in and chasing your dreams. Remember, a dream killer's biggest fear is you'll achieve what they couldn't. So stop listening to all that negative, unproductive criticism and start listening to that nagging nudge in your gut. Nine times out of ten it's a dream trying to come true!

literature
2

About the Creator

Aunt Nell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.