Humans logo

You don't wear a hat on your head at work

You don't wear a hat on your head at work

By Mohandas YorkPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have served as the human resources manager in three companies, and I have used seven human resources assistants. However, the one who impressed me most was an assistant named Qi Hong...

Qi Hong's job is to post job advertisements on the company's website, select resumes from the company's special recruitment mailbox, inform interviewers, and guide them to come for an interview.

These jobs don't seem to have a lot of gold in them, but other assistants did a very average job, and Qi Hong did a very good job.

The first time I asked Qi Hong to pick out ten resumes for me, she picked out fifteen. Ten were put in one portfolio with ten resumes on it, and the other five were put in another portfolio with five resumes on it (spare).

Feeling a little strange, I asked her why she sent a few spare copies.

She explained: "Recent advertisement release also have half a month, I think some interviewees may have to find a good job, although some did not find a good job, but maybe got a call from the several interviews respectively, the alternative room is bigger, to prevent some interview people will not be able to come, I will spare a few if it's convenient, would you can choose from the standby list for two or three, If the person in front can't come to the interview on time, I can inform the person in the back."

I did not tell her about this matter, but she was very thoughtful. The rarest thing is that she is still a newcomer in the workplace and has no previous experience in this field.

"Good," I asked. "That's very thoughtful of you. Did someone remind you to do that?"

She smiled; "No one warned me. I made it up." I nodded, relieved to have such an assistant.

Companies hire when people leave or when certain departments are understaffed. Because the number of slots for each job offer is limited, some job seekers are impressed by the interview but have to give up.

I had regrets in my heart, so I often talked with Qi Hong in my spare time. What I didn't expect was that Qi Hong set up a special folder and made detailed records of the applicants I felt sorry for. When the company hired new employees, she would call these people first. Although most of them have already found jobs, they are not satisfied with the current working environment for various reasons and are ready to change jobs. At this time, Qi Hong's phone call is like "sleeping on a pillow", so some people who have passed by our company for the first time come to work in our company.

One day, Qi Hong reported to me: "There is a problem with a candidate who has already passed the interview and is conducting the investigation! According to the resume left by the applicant, I used my professional contacts to investigate the applicant's background, and found that the last company he worked for was a company in Guangzhou, and he was fired because he leaked the company's business secrets. He worked for the company six months later, then searched the Internet for a telephone survey and found that his resume was fake and he had never worked for the company."

So, of course, this person did not pass our probation period. Qi's report prompted another company in the same industry to Sue him, also for selling trade secrets.

I was secretly glad that Qi Hong was very clever in her work. Instead of being led by his nose, I did not call the mobile phone of the reference on his resume to prove his work unit, but searched the phone number of the company and investigated.

Because she likes to think about problems with her heart, Qi Hong developed very quickly in the workplace. One year later, she jumped ship to work in the human resources department of a large foreign company. Two years later, she was promoted to the human resources director of the company.

Our company's other colleagues in the workplace for her quick "success stories" feel incredible, but I think she is very normal, she told some people in the workplace with the practical action: the head is not only used to wear a hat, and more important role, that is in the workplace is much more brain thinking, to make their work better.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Mohandas York

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.