Humans logo

You Don't Do It Alone

To My Long List of Mentors

By Elijah DavisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
You Don't Do It Alone
Photo by Natalie Pedigo on Unsplash

YOU DON'T DO IT ALONE

To my many mentors

You don't do it alone, is a phrase that I constantly remind myself. When I look at myself, my company, my family, my friends, and at my life, and ask how? It all becomes obvious: I did not do any of it alone.

What do I mean by "it"? In the broad spectrum, I mean life! No one can truly do life all alone, specifically not at the start of life. Not only life but the things that make life an amazing experience, do not have to be done alone. I love this idea and stand by it as my own introduction.

My big goals, and big accomplishments, were achieved with the help of others. Although sports and business are automatically team ventures, I believe that when I got good grades, it was still something I did not do alone! The best news about life and big goals is that life is much more fun when lived with others and big goals are much easier to achieve when you don't do it alone!

My favorite part about my career and life is that I have an opportunity to impact the youth that looks up to me. My favorite thing to tell them is that each one of them can be whatever they want to be when they grow up. I mean it because, I know it is true, and I know it is true because they don't have to do it alone.

Becoming a musician, artist, astronaut, or even changing the World is easily accomplished by a team.

When I say YOU DON'T DO IT ALONE, I think about babies. Do you recall how you comforted, fed, held, and cared for yourself as a newborn? Luckily YOU DON'T DO IT ALONE.

I wish to add that personally I have been blessed to have an experience that is not too traditional or conventional! I mention this because often individuals will feel that what they did not have is the most important thing. Even if like myself an individual has missed out on a traditional father, or mother, we still don't do it alone.

I would like to admit that I have had help getting to where I am in my life. As an author and a business owner, I am fueled by the fact that every interaction I have had is linked to who I am.

"Making the world a more positive place one interaction at a time" is a direct quote from Cauzmics Publishing's mission statement. As an author, I realize that it only takes one interaction to inspire a person for a lifetime.

I am committed to opening up and writing a letter to share credit for all my accomplishments with all of my many mentors. The truth is that the one thing that all these mentors have in common is that when we interacted they showed up and did their best.

Many of my many mentors would not even be aware that they had an impact, or stood out to me, but they all did. I hope this letter can be a nod to all teachers that go the extra mile. To coaches who care and work hard to help their players become better people. To every classmate that leads by example, and to every coworker that shows kindness.

Many of my mentors did not do anything extraordinary rather they just showed up as themselves and let their light shine so that others, like myself, could see. That is enough to change the world, at least my world.

To My Many Mentors,

I am Elijah Davis, and throughout my life, people have gone the extra mile for me, cared for me, led me by example, and have been kind to me. These people have been my teachers, my coaches, my classmates, and even strangers.

I wanted to thank YOU for being one of these people, one of my many mentors! Without knowing it you have helped me accomplish my goal of being a published author. I also wanted to thank you because you inspired Cauzmics Publishing. Cauzmics represents something tangible that can always remind you that with even just one interaction, you can make the world a more positive place. Thank you for trying hard, helping others, being a good person, and leading by example.

Wherever you are I hope you get this message and I hope you feel my energy. Thank You! Thank you for your encouraging words. Thank you for giving extra effort. Thank you for your patience and trust. Thank You.

I hope you can get hope from this letter, I hope that you can remind yourself and remind others that your small interactions matter. Holding the door open for someone, giving a genuine compliment to someone, and showing kindness to a stranger matters. Well, at least it mattered to me!

Thank you for inspiring me, showing me, and making me believe that all the positivity and all the good deeds matter. Most of all thank you for inspiring me to live a life full of purpose, a life I love!

Gratefully yours,

Elijah Davis

Cauzmics Publishing

Betsy The Bird

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.