Humans logo

You

Why I Will Never Forget You

By Carlene MenglerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

You. There was something about you from the moment I met you. Something different that I could never put into words, and I still can't to this day. It took me awhile to even speak a word to you. I shied away from who you were and who you were around. I knew the people you knew and they were nothing like me. I knew I could never fit into your form of a friendship. Out of nowhere we were speaking to each other and something just clicked. We were a couple years apart, but it was as if we knew each other from the start. How could someone like me connect with someone like you? Our connection grew and grew. I didn't want to assume anything so I never did and I never asked the right questions. I began to realize that someone else before me already had you. There was someone behind your walls you never seemed to mention. To you, it was a mere coincidence that they never came up. To me, it was more than purposeful. I became more and more aware of your other side, and I knew I had to say something, but I couldn't. You had me trapped to where my thoughts of freedom couldn't be expressed. I thought you were someone else, but I couldn't convince myself to leave you. I forced myself to let go and stop my own pain. It had been a few months, and I was starting to realize the good in me leaving, but then something happened. Suddenly, the someone else was gone and you were alone again. You reached out to me in desperation. I gave in. No hesitation to me running back to what I knew would only be pain. How could I be so stupid? I left once, so how hard can it be to do it again. Harder than I had ever thought. You had taken hold of me again in a way that was stronger than before. I knew I was your only one now, so how could that be so bad? Then you came and took something from me that no one else had. You reached for it, but I didn't retreat. I will never be able to get it back, and to you, it was just another tally to your board. How could I be a part of his collection? I look back and wish I could have taken what was mine and ran. Ran from who you were, and what you had done to me. You could't see what was wrong with what you did. I couldn't even explain it to you in a way that would make you feel sorry. The thing is, from the start, you never realized what you were doing to me. It was my fault for believing the lies I told myself about you. You only kept the truth from me once. Everything else was right in front of my face, I just refused to look. In my mind you were someone else. You were special and you would never intentionally hurt me. I will never forgot you because you have what I wish I could take back. You have me. A part of me that shouldn't be yours.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Carlene Mengler

Expressing myself to the world in ways of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.