Humans logo

YO! WE GOOD BRO?

Bro Apologies

By Tracy WarnockPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3

TODAY, I want to give a “shout out” and applause to the BOYS, the BROs, the GUYS, the GENTLEMEN of our globe. There is something to be said on how boys compete, communicate, “rough-house” and express themselves. How guys simply communicate their feelings and bond in their “boy-club”! It really is a phenomenon!

Boys commonly make relationships among their peers, their other bros, just less complicated then our girls do. I am not saying this is the case 100% of the time. It is a small observation, among many of us Moms of athletic boys, who can attest to this magnificence. Boys and men, in general, tend to “trash talk” and this makes me cringe! Moreover, they don't mean most of it. It is just common competition language. It is part of the warm-up routine. And when they have a physical altercation… we are talking knock down, fists flying, roll in the dirt pow-wow, within a short period of time all they do is shoulder slap (which I believe is a semi-bro-hug), fist bump or shake and say “YO! We Good Bro?!” They honestly “let it go” like ELSA! Are you kidding me? This is ASTONISHING! Simply AMAZING and was unknown to me until I became a Mom of two boys and observed this boy ritual! “YO! WE GOOD BRO?!” When girls have a disagreement, there is a whole slew of nasty, evil-eyes, multitude of behind the back verbal communication, group-girl texting, friend divide and so many slinging insults you would think you were in a ring with a bunch of pint-sized Rhonda Rousey types . It is not pretty!

Now, we can put some sassy science into this regarding boys being wired differently than the girls. That boy’s frontal lobe has less blood flow to the male brain, which scientifically causes less verbal communication then the girls. Maybe it is in the limbic system, proving that females promote communication, and males are more likely to take physical action. It is also proven that boy brains have less oxytocin resulting males to be less motivated biologically to please others and simply don’t care as much as girls do on certain issues. All I know is, I am mesmerized when I have ever witnessed this triumph by the guys in this world. They tend to not hold grudges like us girls do. We tend to hold on to every word. Tuck it in the memory bank. Bring it out on when the ammunition is needed. Talk about science? All I am saying, this is a female art! Boys be AWARE of this talent please!

No matter how many times, I have observed this male bonding ritual, it still fascinates me! I think as a female, we could really learn from this bro-belief! They earn my applause today! WAY TO GO BRO!

friendship
3

About the Creator

Tracy Warnock

My name is Tracy! I am a proud "LLCOOLMOM" (Life & Love) of two young men - Jake and Luke. Due to the Covid pandemic, I have found myself unemployed. YIKES! SCARY! I am on a new creative path here in the hopes it will open awesome doors

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.