Humans logo

Yang to my Ying

The Best Duo Ever

By Danielle ChampionPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Dear Yang,

From the moment we became running mates in student government, you’ve been my rock.

Election Season

Election Season

After we won, we met practically every day over the summer planning all our events and programs. Remember that Luau I threw for your birthday in your dorm room? When the semester started, I’ll never forget the day we were requested to attend a meeting with the cabinet, and I wanted you to go alone. I knew they knew me from the previous year, and I wanted them to know you as the new President. You grabbed both my shoulders and said, “There’s no me without you”. From that moment we were inseparable. I practically lived in the Lab. I built a close friendship with all your suitemates and we became a family.

Suitemates

The Entire Suite

With every event we coordinated, we got closer. We learned each other’s mannerisms down to a T. I could speak for you and you certainly could speak for me. When homecoming got overwhelming, we were there for each other.

Paint Party

Successful Spring Fest

Award Winning Year

But wait! Let me rewind to my birthday. I can’t believe I didn’t see any signs of the surprise. When you asked me to type a list of all the foods and snacks I liked, I really thought it was because I’m a picky eater and you were tired of me saying no to all your lunch suggestions. Even when they tricked me into picking my favorite cake, I really thought it was a legit cake debate. I never felt special on my birthday and that started the spiral of me never feeling special in general. Your love for me planted the seed for the confidence I have now. Even though I didn’t want to celebrate my day, you thought enough of me to not let me sit in that dark place. For that I will always love you.

You can see the Sadness in my Face



My Birthday the Following Year

Another reason I love you is for your intentionality. When my father passed, I was really dying inside while pretending I wasn’t. No matter how strong I was, you didn’t let that stop you from supporting me. Affection wasn’t really your thing at the time. I watched how hard you worked to be the comfort I needed. From the snickers to the sprite to the Pizza. They meant more than you know. Even when you didn’t have the words to say your presence meant the world. I remember when we were in the airport on our way back from St. Louis. I had just heard that my grand-mom had another stroke. Again, you didn’t have words to say but you walked away, grabbed your things, and came to lay on me while we waited for our flight. Although you quickly fell asleep, my body felt like you were siphoning all of my pain away with every snoring inhale.

The Siphoning

You and I have actually traveled a lot together as well. We went to St. Louis, Charlotte, Miami, and Lincoln. Remember our famous Spongebob re-enactment? I also have pictures of you doing your favorite activity almost everywhere we’ve traveled to.

Charlotte

St. Louis

Miami

His Favorite Activity

Even after college, although our schedules were completely different, we still check in and support each other at events.

His Birthday Paintball Party

Game Night

Thank you for always accepting me for who I am at my core. Not the version of me I thought everyone else wanted me to be. Thank you for never walking away from me no matter how many thousands of text messages I’ve sent you. I’m grateful for the years I’ve had you in my life. I can’t wait to see how you make your mark on the World. Know that I will always be in your corner, cheering you on.

Love,

Ying ❤️

friendship
2

About the Creator

Danielle Champion

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.