Humans logo

Why You Lost Me

Sorry, it's over.

By Samantha LondoPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are many reasons why a person gives up on another person. Maybe it’s just not worth fighting for anymore. Maybe it’s a toxic relationship. Relationships are friendships, lovers, family members, etc. Whatever it may be, there are two sides to every story. Both sides will think that they are right, even though they’re both wrong and right all at once. Recently I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m not a good friend to people who treat me poorly. I’m not saying people have always treated me poorly, because at one point I was obviously their friend for a reason. Maybe the time has changed.

People change, sometimes that’s okay. Like I said, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I know I can treat people like crap who treat me like crap.

1. Don’t assume this was sudden.


It’s very likely this was an extremely long time coming. We’re talking years of build up to the end. It took a lot of straws to finally break the camel’s back.

2. I’ve changed.

I’ve changed so much. I probably don’t care about your problems, let's face it. After having my son, I started caring less about other people and more on my family. Actually, when I got pregnant with my son, this happened.

3. There’s too much drama.


I just don’t want the drama anymore. It’s done, it’s over. I’m not in high school anymore, nor are you. I’m almost 26 and I don’t want to hear about stupid things anymore.

4. You think you’re there for me, but you’re not.


You don’t understand or know half of the things I’ve gone through and been through. You don’t care. You talk about yourself more than anyone else.

5. I lost that bond with trust.


Once the trust is broken, it’s gone for good. There’s no recovery from trust that has been broken.

6. I’m losing touch with my phone.


Not in a bad way. I’m getting to spend more time with my son, it gives us more experience and bonding time. It’s something we need. I thought breastfeeding was the only way I’d get an amazing bond with him, I was wrong. Teaching him new things and taking him places where he learns are so much more fun than being on my phone. Plus it gives me more time to get things to write about.

7. I know you talk poorly of me to other people.


Everyone will do that every once in awhile. I know you do it to people you claim to be close to, because you tell me about it. I know I’m guilty of this, I know I am. I’m no saint in this department either. At some point it has to stop though and that has been one of my vows to myself.

8. I don’t want negative energy.


Especially at such a critical time in my life. I’ve been sick. The negative stress doesn’t help. I can’t heal if I’m constantly being dragged down. It’s hard to be positive when everything is always negative. Two negative people aren’t going to make things any easier on each other.

9. You started treating me poorly.

It was less about the friendship and more about someone to whine at, like I’m a therapist. When I need someone, you weren’t there. You almost never have been. Everything turned into something about you. That’s not fair to me.

10. I started treating you poorly.


Where is the good in that for you? I stopped caring. I stopped wondering how you were doing. I stopped asking. Why would you want that in your life? It’s not okay for me to treat you as poorly as you treat me. I stopped being there for you.

Sometimes relationships run their course. Sometimes they come to an end. It’s okay for them to come to an end. Whether it’s mutual or not, at least you’re learning what you deserve in life. Turn the negative around and turn it into a positive. Learn to make yourself happy. Learn to fix yourself. Not everyone can be a superhero. I'll miss the relationship we once had. Maybe one day we can cross paths again and things will be different, we'll be better friends to each other.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Londo

Sam. Mom. Wife. Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.