Humans logo

Why, When Someone Betrays Your Trust, It Can Be Beneficial for You

Have you ever felt this way?

By Chance RichPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why, When Someone Betrays Your Trust, It Can Be Beneficial for You
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

I have always considered the integrity of the person and the intolerance of lying to be one of my main virtues.

I always tried to tell things by name, and I thought it was worth telling the truth, at least so as not to confuse me with lies and not to try to remember what the lie was and who I was telling it to. And every time I consciously or involuntarily deviated from this principle, nothing good came to an end.

But, when the world allowed this to happen to me, it did me good service, as it taught me how to live and that I should not compromise on lies. Never and for nothing in the world.

Many years ago, I had the misfortune to marry an inappropriate man. Before I knew who he was, I admired him. In my opinion, he was perfect, incapable of any mistake, and wherever he went, the roses blossomed. In a word, in the first months after our wedding, my pink glasses were glued to my eyes.

But just a few months after the happiest, as I thought then, event in my life, I noticed that he was very interested in one of his colleagues. He started to linger at work, and soon we learned from our mutual friends that they had become lovers!

When I decided to talk to her about it and get a clear answer from her, which she loves - she or I started vehemently denying everything and behaving provocatively and extremely aggressively. After that, he stopped mentioning this woman in a conversation with me, even though he kept in touch with her.

Before this happened to me, I was very naive and confident. I liked almost everyone around me, I respected them and I trusted their opinion.

Many years passed before I could force myself to look at other people again without fear and trust at least a few of them.

His behavior made me look closely at my family and friends. I began to relate to all their words and arguments with a fair amount of skepticism, and I was not as good at them as I used to be.

My outlook on life has changed. I began to keep my thoughts to myself more and more often, although earlier I had no greater joy than to share them with everyone around me.

And now, looking back, I realized that I had managed to learn some very valuable lessons.

So I realized that while there are a lot of bad people in this world, there aren't many good people in it. At first, I came to this conclusion purely theoretically, but over time, it began to be confirmed more and more often in practice. Over time, bad memories gradually faded into the past. I thawed, letting myself start enjoying life again.

I have learned to evaluate new people lucidly in my life. I understand who I can trust and who should not be allowed to enter my soul. I became a real human expert and my perception rose to truly cosmic heights compared to what it was before.

I gained wisdom much faster than if these negative events had never happened in my life.

I have learned to be grateful for everything that has happened in my life - for better or for worse - and now I consider my failed marriage to be one of the gifts of fate!

Overall, I was able to turn the negative events that happened to me into positive ones. And I advise all those who face a betrayal of their trust to follow my example.

It was a very painful lesson, but I know that there will be such lessons in anyone's life. I became what I became, and I learned to distinguish truth from falsehood precisely because of the experience I gained then. And this is very good.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.