Humans logo

Why Second Chances Are So Important

You are not wrong for giving something or someone a second chance.

By Kara DanielsPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
1

I think it is safe to say that we have all been there. Maybe it was a simple thing you really didn't even realize you did wrong and you were instantly forgiven by some kind soul, or maybe you have been practically on your knees begging for forgiveness after you had done something not even you thought you would do, ever. Either way, I feel we can all relate on this one.

Now, can you imagine if people never handed out second chances?

Yikes. What an awful thought.

People sometimes ask, what is your biggest regret? I fortunately never really felt I had many, so I never knew how to answer. I almost felt like I must have a pretty boring life to not have any regrets. But do not worry, I gave it a little time and it all caught up to me. A few times where I actually surprised myself, never thinking I would do something like that while also realizing I clearly wasn't thinking in that moment of wrongdoing.

The little moments of forgiveness are ones we barely notice, like when we cut someone off in traffic. Sometimes we don't even realize we did this and that person forgives you within about 45 seconds, no longer thinking about it after maybe a few minutes of it happening. Sometimes our friends cancel plans that maybe you were really looking forward to, but we forgive them within a day or two or until we find some other plans for that night.

But can you imagine if we didn't give people second chances? Can you think of how many good things that have come to us in the form of second chances that would never have happened if not for those second chances?

I most likely would not have half the number of friends I do now if I never forgave them and if they never forgave me.

I cancel plans because the introvert in me can’t help but get the best of me and my plans. I forget to respond to texts, one in particular where I actually (no joke) responded to an entire three months later. And I hope we have all gotten that notification from Facebook telling us it is one of our good friend's birthdays, which I never would have remembered until they've posted a birthday selfie on Instagram, which then creates the mass amount of "happy birthday" texts and comments which definitely means you only remembered it because of that photo. I would be very lonely and friendless if not for second chances.

Sure, not everyone deserves a second chance, in extreme cases. But I believe in most cases, second chances are definitely OK and that you should not be afraid to give one.

There is a difference between forgiveness and giving someone a second chance. Forgiveness is certainly necessary in order to give someone a second chance, but you give someone a second chance because you are hopeful. You have hope that this person will not let you down again, and even though it is impossible for someone to never let you down again, it does not mean you should get caught up on their one mistake. Personally, I can't help but think of all the good to come with them that I would be missing out on if I were to deny someone a second chance.

You give second chances because you want to.

I have never been one to deny myself something that I want. You know yourself better than anyone and if you want something, you are probably not going to satisfy that want until you have obtained it or at least tried for it. Why deny yourself something that could be? Being afraid to give someone a second chance will, more often than not, only get you to the next person that will eventually put you in a similar situation where you have to decide once again whether they are worthy of receiving a second chance.

As a human being, I realized long ago how imperfect we all are, which just so happens to make us that much more special (seriously). We all have these idiosyncrasies and flaws. It is true that you have to decide which flaws are worth putting up with because that Prince Charming is not just running late because his horse is slow, he actually does not exist.

You are not wrong for giving something or someone a second chance. You are not stupid for giving out a second chance and it not working out, again. You are a believer with hope in their heart. You are a glass-half-full type of soul and us wrongdoers would be nothing without you.

Some may think that second chances are worthless until they find themselves needing one, too.

The bottom line is that if you allow for a second chance, you are not foolish. You are a hopeful being that understands that one day you may also be in need of one, too.

advice
1

About the Creator

Kara Daniels

Another bio? No, thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.