Humans logo

Why People Get Surprised to Hear My Age - Omowunmi Dada

Omowunmi talks skincare, aging.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Omowunmi Dada is opening up about being a brown skin girl, skincare, and why people get surprised when they hear her age. Here's what Omowunmi Dada had to say during a recent interview with Channels Teleision.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Omowunmi Dada during interview

Speaking about her experience being a brown skin actress, Omowunmi Dada said:

OMOWUNMI DADA: When I started acting for example, most of the roles would go to ladies who were yellow. I mean, you were either really really fair, which made a lot of actors go to alter their skins, or you were half-cast, or you weren't going to get the roles. But for people like us who stood our grounds and who let our talents shine, yes, it took time, but now we're shining. Everybody is going for the brown skin girl and most importantly for our industry, because the whole world has started to accept our brown skin, our industry we see more brown skin girls ruling the screens right now. So yes, brown skin is winning, except your naturally fair y'know.

Speaking about skincare, aging, and why people get surprised to hear her age, Omowunmi Dada said:

OMOWUNMI DADA: There is nothing as important as taking care of your body first because your body is a vessel that carries your spirit and your soul. And one of the things that you can do to take care of your body apart from eating healthy and exercising is your skincare. Beauty comes from inside out, but the out is also very important. Skincare - wash your face, shower twice daily at least, moisturize, tone, and most importantly, use the sun protector - that is your SPF, it is extremely important. And also, apart from helping you glow, helping you look beautiful, it also helps you not to look your age.

There's absolutely nothing wrong aging, but you shouldn't just look your age. And with good skincare, and a good routine, you're definitely not going to look your age. A lot of people meet up with me and say "Oh Omowunmi, how old are you?", and when I tell them they're like "whew ok! You don't look your age", especially when I don't have makeup on. If not for events, I go everyday with no makeup on. The bedrock for any makeup is a good skin. When you have a good skin, makeup just does little to enhance it.

I am a huge fan and a huge advocate for the brown skin. I am brown. I take care of my skin. I have no intentions of bleaching, whitening, or doing anything because I know that black and brown is beautiful in its original form.

Omowunmi Dada is 33 years old.

What do you think about what the actress had to say? Are you surprised to hear she's 33? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.