Humans logo

Advice Powerful Older Women Gave Me at Recent Event - Nancy Isime

Nancy talks interaction with powerful women

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian host and media personality, Nancy Isime, had a wonderful week last week and got to not only meet, but get personal advice from a woman she has looked up to for many years, Hon. Abike Dabiri.

During the recently held Headies Pre Award reception, Hon. Abike Dabiri personally wanted to make audience with Nancy Isime, and now, Nancy Isime is revealing what exactly Hon. Dabiri said to her, and why it has stuck to her head. Here is what Nancy Isime had to say about her encounter with the honorable, as well as her encounter with Chief Nike Davies-Okundaye.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Nancy Isime and Hon. Abike Dabiri

Taking to Instagram to open up about why she was pulled aside by Hon. Dabiri and what the 60 year old politician said to her, Nancy Isime said:

NANCY ISIME: Let’s throw it back to my Hosting The Headies Pre Award Reception at the US Consulate last week, shall we?🥰 The highlight of my evening had to be Hon. Abike Dabiri asking to come see me backstage.

As soon as she saw me, she said We’re watching you and so proud of you and some other really sweet words, but what stuck to my head like glue was when she said “Don’t be distracted, the world can be harsh on strong women but stay focused”

I remember being a young girl living in Ikorodu, hearing about Honorable Abike being elected into the House of Representatives to represent Ikorodu constituency in 2003 and how much of a big deal it was then and how inspired I was by her.

Fast forward to 20years later, hearing her tell me she loves my work and is proud with a lot of encouraging words completely warmed my heart!🥹🥰

Hon. Abike Dabiri is not the only woman that Nancy Isime got to have a moment with that night, she also had a moment with Chief Nike Davies-Okundaye. Speaking about their interaction, Nancy said:

NANCY ISIME: Mummy Nike is also one woman Ive completely admired since childhood, every time she sees me she says “I’m Proud of Youuuuuu, come and take Adire from the Gallery”😄

Love Her!❤️

Nancy Isime and Chief Nike Davies-Okundaye

It's good to see older women and women that Nancy looks up to also appreciating her and passing down love and wisdom for the younger generation. What do you think about the words the women shared with Nancy? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.