Humans logo

Why Me?

Just the Average Struggles of an Introverted Girl and a Boy

By Carley WillmottPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So many questions in this broken world. Why is the sky blue and the grass green? Why is there so much evil and hate? Why do bad things happen to good people? Why can’t I stop thinking about you? My mind races through the endless possibilities. I'm in my car, relaying our conversation over and over, analyzing and dissecting every word, every syllable trying to memorize your face—your smile, your eyes. It’s kind of hard to forget. Did I say too much? I questioned whether it was real or I imagined our whole interaction. It felt so normal, like I’ve known you longer than a couple hours. I put my head in my hands and run my shaking fingers through my hair before pulling it back into a ponytail. I take a deep breathe as I see you drive away. You don't see me watching you, my stomach in knots. All I picture is us sitting together, unleashing more of ourselves than either of us ever imagined. Why is someone like you here with someone like me?

Most of my life, I’ve been ignored, shielding myself from the world around me. Words would hang on the tip of my tongue, but my mouth was snapped shut, not allowing them to escape. My silence has defined me, like it’s part of my name. It’s like a layer I can’t shed, no matter how hard I try to redefine who I am. I guess old habits die hard. I sit across from you watching the way you move, taking in your nervousness and uncertainty. You bite your lip and suck in a breathe as you watch me speak. You’re looking at me, really looking at me instead of through me and my heart pounds, trying not to babble uncontrollably. I can sense your awe as the words pour from my broken heart and I look down at the ground, unsure whether to continue. You lean forward waiting for me to continue as if I planned to hold you in suspense. I’m shocked and feel like an author toying with the reader, leaving the unenjoyable cliff hanger right when the story has you hooked. I shake my head and continue, finally looking you in your beautiful eyes. I’m captivated, unable to look away and it’s like we are the only people in the room. Who’s going to blink first? Not me, not if I can help it. You could say I'm a bit competitive. I’ve never felt more like myself than I did in this moment. I've never laughed so hard and felt more free. Can you tell me your secret? What spell did you cast on me to unleash my past, brokenness and all? How do you make me feel like this? I shouldn't trust you, but for some reason I do. I'm willing to show my colors along with the shades of grey. I don’t know how, but, boy you’ve got me hooked and no matter how hard I try, I just can’t let it go.

I'm driving home and every song reminds me of you. I never thought I'd be the girl that gets a crush on a guy this fast. There's a first for everything. The road blurs as I'm lost in my own head. Suddenly, I'm home and I don't know how I got here. I park and take a deep breath as I check my phone. His name flashes across and I can't contain my smile. Is this a dream? All I want to know is why me?

dating
Like

About the Creator

Carley Willmott

Just your average introverted university soccer player trying to figure out life all while trying to write her first best selling book. You could say I dream big, but I would never admit that out loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.