Humans logo

Why I Want to Share My Passion For Nostalgia

I created a blog and podcast that shares my love of the 1980s—and it seems to be connecting with others

By James LogiePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why I Want to Share My Passion For Nostalgia
Photo by Girl with red hat on Unsplash

I'm a little biased.

I grew up in the 1980s, so to me: it's the perfect decade. The older I get, the more I appreciate the things from my youth. Call it golden-age thinking--or wearing rose-colored glasses--but the memories of our past are still powerful.

The last year and a bit has obviously been a nightmare. I think it really made people appreciate simpler times. Those simpler times are often the era you grew up in.

For me, the 1980s were all about simplicity, fun, entertainment, and new advancements in technology. When I look back--I think about how carefree things were. There were obviously bad parts, but we tend to push those away and focus on the beautiful moments.

The past few years have really had me yearning for those simpler days. And when you look at it: nostlagia really is one of our most powerful emotions.

We get the word 'nostalgia' from the combination of two Greek words: nostos, and algos. Nostos means "homecoming," and algos translates to "pain," or "ache."

This is what nostalgia is; an ache to return home, to return to our past, and a yearning to do so.

If I felt this way, then many others would, too. This encouraged me to start a blog and podcast all about the things I love from the 1980s.

Putting Together the Blog

When I say this was a labor of love: I really mean it. With the blog, I wanted to touch upon all my favorite topics from the 1980s. I shared information on:

  • Movies
  • Cartoons
  • TV shows
  • Music
  • Fashion
  • Toys
  • Video games
  • Technology

I wrote on every topic you could think of. I wanted to share some history and details of specific things like the Walkman or Saved by the Bell, but then share my own personal connections to those things.

It seemed to work well. Some of the topics I covered were the number one result on Google. I loved going back and reviewing some classic TV shows that I hadn't seen in years. I loved writing about some of my favorite toys I had completely forgotten about.

I wanted to connect this with the widest audience possible.

Starting the Podcast

Blogs are great, but I feel a podcast is a more intimate way to connect with listeners. Not long after the blog began, I started the podcast.

I've hosted a health and fitness podcast for years before this. Fitness has been my profession for nearly two decades. But honestly: I've got pretty sick of the industry.

I've never been more excited to put together episodes than I have for my 1980s show. I would cover a lot of the topics I wrote about on the blog but was really able to flesh them out.

I could include audio clips from old commercials, and really take my time to tell stories.

The podcast was a smart move, as there's a smaller audience out there compared to blogs. The podcast has helped me reach people all around the world. And they're on the exact same page as me. Some listeners have told me that they feel like they already know me. When you're right in their ear with them, a true intimacy develops.

The feedback I've received has been incredible. People seem so grateful for this look back to their youth. Some have told me they feel like they were the only one that appreciated those things and the podcast has made them feel like they aren't alone in it.

Apple Podcasts review

Reviews like this were exactly what I was hoping for. I wanted to give people a form of escapism and help them return to a time that they hold dear. Here's another one that let me know that I'm on the right track with this show:

I'm so thankful that the passion I have has resonated with others. It encourages me to continue to make the best shows possible. Some other people have told me it's been a real light to them during tough times.

Honestly, it's been the same thing for me.

Final Thoughts

When I started my Everthing80sPodcast--it was honestly for my own distraction. Seeing that it has impacted people around the world makes me feel like I've created an awesome service.

If I can act as a form of entertainment, information, and nostalgia for people--then I'm over the moon.

I'm also finding there are some ways to make money with this. I started using a premium ad network on my website, and as the traffic grows: hopefully the revenue does, too.

I was also encouraged by some listeners to start a Patreon account. This has been a surprising thrill. I'm able to interact with listeners in one spot, and can create separate content just for them. I created an Everything 80s Movie Club just for Patreon where I review the good, the bad, and the ugly of 1980s movies.

It's still early days, but I would love nothing more than to bring in people who want to support me and the show. The dream of a membership site that would allow me to do this full-time is truly exciting.

Right now, I get around 12,000 downloads a month for the podcast. Not amazing, but way more than I had thought was possible when I began. My ultimate dream is to somehow have this become a full-time show. That may be a bit of a pipe-dream but I can't imagine anything better than getting some great sponsors on board so I can devote all my time to it.

Whether it's a combination of advertising, sponsorship, and membership sites--I feel there's a lot of potential with my passion to bring people back to a time that they cherish.

But in either case, I've realized what a powerful thing nostalgia is--for me, and anyone that enjoys returning to the past.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

James Logie

Personal trainer, nutrionist, traveler, blogger, podcaster, lover of the 80s.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.