Humans logo

Why I stopped reading non-fiction

and some reasons why you should too!

By Noah DouglasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Why I stopped reading non-fiction
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Being a business student and avid reader I’ve always been big into non-fiction and self-help books. Over the last few years I went through a massive phase of devouring the stuff and delving deep into all there was available to me. Name a productivity guru on Youtube and I’ve watched them. I’d fully engrossed myself in all the ‘tips and tricks’ known to man yet found myself slowly falling out of love with reading and even learning.

Here are some reflections I’ve had, let me know your opinions and thoughts on the topic.

A lot of non-fiction is similar to each other

Do you ever find yourself reading a self-help book or some non-fiction book and recognise the similarities between them? Inevitably you will find some variation of the go-to words of advice:

To reach enlightenment just get some more sleep, exercise, and drink more water.

On the tenth read, it gets slightly annoying. There seems to be nothing new under the sun. I found myself scanning through books recognising that 90% of the book would be random facts and studies I’d probably heard about already and at a push, 10% was actually useful information. It just wasn’t the most productive use of time.

With the gateway of entry of book publication smaller than ever, a lot of people believe themself to be the next Malcolm Gladwell. It is a double-edged sword though as it no longer takes years of composing, editing, and refining to complete a book nor is it nearly as expensive. We have a wave of new writers and work but also an influx of compilations of rushed words and commonplace knowledge. A lot of work is just similar.

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Non-fiction is just boring

A similar trait to a lot of non-fiction books is their format. All the best chapters are at the beginning. Authors lure you in with a few interesting pages then you are hooked and forget to realise that the quality of information has declined as your progress onwards.

In addition, a few interesting facts are often densely packed out by lots of unnecessary examples, evidence, or points or repeated to an inch of their life. What happened to succinct writing?

Now compare this fiction you cannot afford to not be a page-turner in a novel because people will just get bored. I think a lot of nonfiction authors have got complacent and rely on their early pages to carry the reader onwards. I myself am guilty of finishing many books I hate just because I have started.

Looking back it just makes reading a lot less fun and leaves you unmotivated to carry on which is the opposite of what good writing should do.

Understanding that lessons learned in books aren’t gospel

Ever heard an amazing fact only to later realise it was a lie. I have.

Ultimately authors will have done a lot of research and know their given topic well (hopefully), however, all of us have an unconscious bias. This is especially true of things we are passionate about. Being able to discern fact from fiction is essential when reading a lot of nonfiction.

In addition to that, you have to be able to read a range of topics and authors. If you are only feeding your own opinion by reading work by someone with a similar view you can have a very polarised understanding. This can eventually lead to an inability to relate to those with different views from you.

I found with a lot of nonfiction there was a common thread of what were core values and that could manifest to me if I didn’t read a variety of different works. There was a common theme of what was ‘popular’, especially in the self-help niche. So if you engage in a lot of that content maybe evaluate what effect that has on your stance on life.

By Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Sometimes all we need is a bit of escapism

“Do not read non-fiction prior to bed, which encourages projection into the future and preoccupation/planning. Read fiction that engages the imagination and demands present-state attention.”- Tim Ferriss

I’m a bit of an overthinker. Okay, I’m a massive overthinker and sometimes nonfiction just does not help. Stressing over the future and comparing where I am compared to all these authors who have supposedly ‘made it’ is just not a helpful combo.

A lot of research has gone into reading before bed and how this is helpful, however, additional information has shown that fiction is much more beneficial than non-fiction for having calmer nights and relieving that stress. Here are some things I found out when reading more fiction:

Some benefits I found when reading fiction

I found when reading fiction I was more relaxed- not stressing so much about the future and what I did and didn’t need to achieve.

I developed a greater sense of empathy- considering different perspectives for characters and people from different backgrounds.

I felt more creative and found myself coming up with various new ideas for writing or various creative endeavors.

I developed a greater sense of escapism and distraction from often a quite stressful day.

It allowed me to fall back in love with reading.

By Lilly Rum on Unsplash

Final thoughts

Contrary to the entirety of this article I will not completely give up non-fiction books. Instead, I have developed a much more healthy relationship with it. I recognise their rich source of knowledge and information and how that is really useful.

However, I have moved beyond simply limiting myself to either fiction or non-fiction. I recognise the pros and cons of both styles of writing. Now I like to have one of each on the go and go through periods where I lean towards one style. Reading isn’t the chore I once found it to be, and I don’t force myself for learning's sake. Ironically enough I have read the most nonfiction now I balance it with fiction because I haven’t forced myself and burnt out.

If you have found yourself in a similar reading slump or simply you are reading a singular niche of books why not challenge yourself to try something new. I’m sure it will inspire you and reignite your love for reading as it did for me.

“We read to know we are not alone”- CS Lewis

humanity
1

About the Creator

Noah Douglas

Perpetually curious.

Journeyman of faith†

Runner, writer, marketer.

Some of my other work ↓

www.noahdouglas.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.