Humans logo

Why I Now Regret Going Naked to Pray for Tinubu - Actor Olaiya Igwe

Olaiya speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 5 months ago 3 min read

Nigeria is feeling the pinch of this new administration. Right now Minna, which gave an overwhelming vote to the APC party during the 2023 general elections, is currently protesting against growing hardship in the land. At the same time, veteran actor Olaiya Igwe who caused quite the stir last year after going naked in the beach to pray on behalf of and in favour of Pres. Bola Tinubu is now coming out to speak about why he regrets making that decision. Here is what the veteran actor had to say about his action and why he now regrets it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

In a new video, which has now been deleted, posted on Instagram, the veteran Yoruba actor also popularly known as Ebun Oloyede gave a public apology to Nigerians for going naked on the beach to campaign for current president Bola Tinubu. The actor explained in the video that his actions were driven by a divine revelation he says he received during that time regarding Tinubu.

In the video, Olaiya Igwe cited Tinubu's assistance, particularly in matters relating to his health, as the reason behind his show of support for the politician. Speaking in the video, Olaiya said in Yoruba:

OLAIYA IGWE: [I did it] because of things he has done for me, health-wise, and I received a revelation to pray for him at the beach, which I did.

I was criticised and cursed after I did, but I didn’t care. I wasn’t annoyed with him (Tinubu), and neither did I react negatively to him. I knew the criticism was inevitable because I am a much-loved actor.

People who didn’t expect my actions must have been shocked, wondering why I did what I did. I know the criticism would have come from Bola Tinubu’s rival parties.

Olaiya Igwe says he now regrets this decision and is asking for the public to forgive his antics. Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.