Humans logo

Why I Left Dr Dolor Entertainment - Teni

Teni finally speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
1

Nigerian singer Teniola Apata, popularly known as Teni, is speaking about why she parted ways with record label Dr Dolor Entertainment who really popularized the artiste, especially in the early days of her career.

Now during a new interview on Tea With Tay, Teni is explaining why she left, why she's independent now, and giving advice to artistes who also want to leave their record labels. Here's what Teni said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Teni during interview

During the interview, Teni was asked "After your debut album, you parted ways with your record label Dr Dolor Entertainment, why? Why did you leave?" She responded:

TENI: It was just time. Y'know, I had finished my contract. I had fulfilled all my obligations, and we did well together. And I just wanted to y'know, just go ahead and continue.

"How long was this contract for?"

TENI: Four years, and I finished everything. I delivered everything I was supposed to deliver, and we did amazing, and we're still friends.

"So you guys are still on good terms?"

TENI: Yeah, we still talk.

"So are you your own management now? Do you have your own label?"

TENI: I'm independent right now.

"Is that easy, or hard?"

TENI: Ah! Independent artiste, you're the CEO. You have to do everything. It's not easy. You have to do everything. There is nobody that is - you will sit down and plan. Your fashion, your marketing, your promotion, it's you, and your team.

"But is it a better way to go, considering the clime that we are in?"

TENI: Well, yes and no. Yes because you own your masters. But you can still own your masters if you're with a major label. No, because it is capital intensive. Bruh, do you know how much people spend on one artiste? Do you know how much labels spend? Let labels come and show you how much they're spending. Do you know how many people are attached to one artiste? So it takes a lot of money. But then, it's team work.

"Is that why labels are always angry when artistes try and leave? Because they've invested so much?"

TENI: That's based on contract, plus also a lot of emotions are involved as well. So as an artiste, if you fulfill your obligations and you want to leave, being independent is very very hard oh! But being with a major label - it's good to be independent, and then be with a major label because that way, you know what to do. Like me now, I'm independent right now, my next album, I'm going to sign with somebody internationally. But being an independent artiste has taught me a lot of things. I'm not just singing in the studio, I know what I want and what I need to do. If something's not going right, I know where this leak is coming from because I've done it myself and I know.

What do you think about what Teni said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

Btw, I earn money writing on Vocal. If you also want to earn money writing, here's a beginner's guide I made to help you get started

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    I love learning about industries like this. I think sometimes its a case of pushing on to new things because if you stay stuck in one place in an ever-changing world of fashion, it will fade into nowhere. I read your stories quite a bit, but I have been away for a while and I think I forgot to subscribe! I've done that now, and I'm really looking forward to seeing more of your stories from Nigeria. Also, well done again on your big achievement!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.