Humans logo

Why I Gave Davido My Song "Blow My Mind" - Wurld

Wurld opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

It is not news that the art of making art can be a very collaborative process. Some of the best and biggest songs by your favorite artistes were colloborative efforts, and sometimes, the biggest songs of an artiste's career are not even written by the artiste themselves.

One such example here in Nigeria is the song "Blow My Mind" sang and popularized by Afrobeats giant Davido, and American superstar Chris Brown. Upon release "Blow My Mind" went on to be a mega hit but what many don't know is that the song was actually written by another Nigerian artiste named Wurld. Now, during a new interview with 3MusicTV in Ghana, Wurld is opening up about how the collaboration came to be, and how Davido and Chris Brown ended up singing and recording the song he wrote. Here's what Wurld said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During his interview, Wurld was asked "You did "Blow My Mind" for Davido and Chris Brown. Tell us about how that happened, and how the feeling was to be on that track with two greats" He responded:

WURLD: It wasn’t planned to be honest. I was in Lagos promoting my project, ‘Love Is Contagious’, and I got the call from a guy, producer Shizzi. You know, it was even one of those things I didn’t plan for it because I was gonna use the song myself. I wanted to get some features on the record, but I was promoting a new project, and I didn’t have time.

I didn’t have a use for ‘Blow My Mind’ at that time and Davido and Chris Brown, it’s just a beautiful thing to lend my art with another artiste and at the same time and to see how well the song has done.

Wurld during interview

Thanks for diving into this story of "Why I Gave Davido My Song 'Blow My Mind' - Wurld" with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going! I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. There's a N100,000 writing contest happening now so to join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.