Humans logo

Why I Come off as Unwelcoming to People - Basketmouth

Basketmouth finally explains

By Jide OkonjoPublished 19 days ago 3 min read
1

Popular Nigerian comedian Basketmouth was the latest guest on Mercy Johnson-Okojie's show, Mercy's Menu, and during the conversation between the two stars, Mercy Johnson finally asked Basketmouth why he comes off as unapproachable, and makes people scared or cautious to meet him when they see him. Here's what Basketmouth had to say in response.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During the interview Mercy Johnson asked him saying: "You're one person, even when we worked together one particular brand, you're one person that everybody is very careful. When I mean careful, I mean they're scared of offending you, coming close to you or to your space. Why?" to which he responded:

BASKETMOUTH: Yeah, I think the reason they think that way is because all those things they see, most of it, it's all false walls. I have too much within me, and I guard myself as much as I can. Because once you break in, it's easy to mess with me. Once you break in to that circle, taking me down is not hard. Do you understand? They will definitely know that weakness. So I build a guard around myself. I know you've seen me. I just come in, do my work, and I leave. I'm not stressed. I don't want to make new friends to be honest. And it's my life, it's my choice. I think it's too late. Most of my friends, if you meet them, I've known them for years. My manager, I've known him for 33 years and that is the only person I can trust to manage me. He has access to everything. My lawyer I've known for 30 years. My talent manager I've known for 33 years. My logistics manager, 33 years. So everybody around me - 15, 18, 19 years [of knowing them]. I only employ people that I know, I trust, because they have access to me. The way I am, it has worked for me, and it has worked for me for the past 25 years. And since it works, it's not broken, why do you want to fix it? So that's why people have the illusion that they have. I soft o! I soft like babe [laughs]. People don't know.

What do you think about what Basketmouth had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a writing community called "Jide Okonjo Writers Club" where you can create, earn, participate in critique, and mingle with other writers. To join us, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.