Humans logo

Why I Almost Quit Nollywoood - Lateef Adedimeji

Lateef opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
2

Nollywood actor Lateef Adedimeji is one of the most successful actors working in Nigeria today. But in a new interview with Teju Babyface, he's narrating the story of how he almost quit acting and the Nollywood industry to go and find office work. Here's why, he explained, and what stopped him from quitting.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about why he almost quit acting and Nollywood, as well as what stopped him from doing it, Lateef Adedimeji explained saying:

LATEEF ADEDIMEJI: There's a lead role I did in Ilorin for 10 days that I was given N1,000 in 2010. I spent ten days on that set and wasn't given feeding money until day six. And even the day six, it was the PA that asked me "have you been receiving your daily feeding allowance?" and I replied in the negative, no. He now went to speak to the producer that the fellow playing the sub-lead role says he's not been receiving his feeding allowance. Producer then flared up that "what? is he telling stories?" and the PA now said "no he's not, I was the one that asked him." I thought to myself I'm in trouble now. I never asked the PA to tell the producer. What if I'm fired off this production? What hope will I have then?

So, they started giving me N300 per day for the next 4 days that I finished the set. And I held no grudges. In fact, I went to thank them. I've played about 98 scenes for N8,000. Out of the N8,000 I gave my bosses N1,500 each to buy recharge card. So I was left with N5,000 in Oyo, and I'm going back to Ikotun, that's where I stay and my parents stay. And I was a graduate at this time! A graduate with dependents counting on him.

It was really a tough one. And so I decided in my mind that the certificate I said I won't dust to go and look for office work, I think at this stage, I have to. So I called one or two I know in the industry that are so big, and told them that I am tired. I don't think I can cope anymore.

Then I spoke to a marketer and told him I want to leave and go and look for job. And that word the marketer said to me that year was what made me stick to this job. He said "You want to quit? With all that you have in you? All that you carry? You have not used half of what God has given you as talent. If you go, you will regret it. With time, you will blow." That was a word that the marketer told me and I say I am ready to do whatever it takes to grind the results out.

Wow! I'm so happy Lateef held on and didn't quit, because today, he's one of the best in the industry. What do you think about what Lateef Adedimeji had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.