Humans logo

Why I Abandoned My Husband-to-Be to Follow Acting - Genny Umoza

ROK actress gets candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

What will you sacrifice to follow the life of your dreams? What would you give up to chase the life that you know will make you feel more alive than you currently do? That was the question that Nollywood actress Genny Uzoma asked herself before she quit her well-paying job and left her husband-to-be to follow acting.

Now, you may recognize her from a number of roles she's acted with ROK. But getting to where she is was quite the journey. Here is what actress Genny Uzoma had to say about leaving her job and husband-to-be to follow acting.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking during a new interview with The Guardian, actress Genny Uzoma said about her journey into Nollywood and the sacrifices she's made to become the popular actress she is today:

I started when I was young. I have always been fascinated with arts and literature. I used to do plays in secondary school; I did The Incorruptible Judge, it went so well and I knew I wanted to be an actor. I signed up with the Actors’ Guild of Nigeria as a teenager and did my first film, A waka pass role in 2004. It featured Patience Uzokwu, Ini Edo and Bob Manuel. I was paid N500. I was really excited that I got to share the screen with veterans. This happened while I was studying Political Science at the university. My parents never approved of it, they thought I would be promiscuous and out of control. I stood my grounds and today my mum is one of my biggest supporters.

After my service year, I started working in the corporate space as a call center operator and a customer care consultant but I wasn’t fulfilled there, though I was able to pay my rent, I had a small car, life was fairly good and I was already in talks to get married. I wanted something more out of life and I always knew I would come back to the industry. It was just a question of time. So, I managed to save a little and I resigned. I was really good at my telecoms job; I won best customer service official of the month for a couple of times. When I came back into the industry, it felt like it was my first time. I was finding it difficult to get jobs, at a point, my little savings was running out. Then I wrote Mr. Emeka Duru whom I had known vaguely in the industry and he secured an audition for me with Mary Njoku, the chief executive officer of ROK Studios and I got a role in Husbands of Lagos. It turned out to be a success and that made people to notice me again.

I am happier in the movie industry. I will say I was miserable in the telecoms industry. I felt like I was living in an alternate reality in the telecoms field. Although I gathered skills that are helping me in my day-to-day life, being in the entertainment industry gives me fulfillment despite the struggles too and I know that greater things will come.

What do you think about what Genny Uzoma said? Would you do the same thing to follow the career of your dreams? Or do you think it's not worth it? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.