Humans logo

Who would have thought...

Lois was the best thing that ever happened to me, until she wasn't. behind the love, laughter and promises was deceit.

By Ezinne Joy NwaokikePublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Who would have thought...
Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

I couldn't believe what I was seeing. Lois, my partner of 5 years, was standing in our bedroom, naked, with another man.

I had just come home from work early, and I guess I caught them by surprise. They both looked at me in shock, and then Lois ran to me and started crying.

"I'm so sorry," she said. "I never meant for this to happen."

I didn't know what to say. I was so angry and hurt. I felt like my whole world had been turned upside down.

I finally managed to say, "Get out."

Lois looked at me with tears in her eyes. "Please," she said. "Let me explain."

But I didn't want to hear her explanation. I just wanted her gone.

"I said get out!" I yelled.

Lois turned and ran out of the room. The other man followed her.

I stood there for a long time, just staring at the spot where they had been standing. I couldn't believe this was happening.

I felt like my heart was breaking. I didn't know what I was going to do.

I finally went to the kitchen and poured myself a glass of wine. I sat down at the table and took a sip.

I tried to think about what had just happened, but my mind was racing. I couldn't focus on anything.

I finished my wine and poured myself another glass. I sat there for a long time, just drinking and thinking.

I didn't know what I was going to do. I didn't know if I could forgive Lois. I didn't know if I could even look at her again.

I finally decided that I needed to get away. I needed to clear my head and figure out what I was going to do.

I packed a bag and left the apartment. I didn't know where I was going, but I knew I couldn't stay there.

I drove for hours, just aimlessly wandering the streets. I didn't know where I was going, but I knew I needed to get away.

Finally, I pulled over to the side of the road and got out of the car. I sat down on the curb and stared out at the night sky.

I took a deep breath and closed my eyes. I tried to calm down and think about what I was going to do.

I knew that I couldn't just keep driving aimlessly. I needed to figure out what I was going to do with my life.

I opened my eyes and looked up at the stars. I thought about all the things that I had been through in my life. I thought about all the good times and the bad times.

I realized that I was stronger than I thought I was. I had been through a lot in my life, and I had always come out stronger.

I knew that I would get through this. I knew that I would find a way to move on with my life.

I stood up and got back in the car. I started the engine and drove away.

I didn't know where I was going, but I knew that I was going to be okay.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Ezinne Joy Nwaokike

Ezinne is a writer who loves to write for fun. They have been writing since they were a child, and they find it to be a great way to express themselves and to connect with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.