Humans logo

When Woman Meets Man

Chapter 2

By Desiree SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I walked through the fence to join him in the backyard. The sun was beginning to set and the closer I got to him, the better the fire he was tending to felt. As I approached he grabbed a tshirt from the Mustang and put it on. After he put it on he looked down at me and said, “hey you.” He opened his arms to embrace me in a hug.

I hugged him expecting him to smell like outdoorsy or musty, like he’d been working the yard all day. But instead he smelled surprisingly clean. Whatever he had in his hair smelled warm and inviting. We held our embrace for a few seconds. It felt like minutes and was still not long enough. He gripped me like I was an old friend that he hadn’t seen in years. I felt as though I’d hugged him before. It felt natural.

“So, I finally get to meet the ever elusive April,” he said looking down at me while we were still in an embrace.

I looked up at him and smiled, “And I finally meet the ever so busy Aaron.”

“You look exactly like your pictures,” he said as he stepped back to give me a once over while still holding my hands.

“Is that a good thing?” I asked already knowing that it was a good thing.

“Damn right babe,” he replied.

“Well sir your pictures didn’t do you any justice. You look better in person,” I told him. “I’m glad that we finally got the chance to slow down and meet each other face to face.” We hugged again and I was glad that I chose to get out of the car versus high tailing it out of there.

He let go of the embrace and went to put more wood into the fire. I saw some large branches and decided to help out. It reminded me of my childhood. My father used to do the same thing in our backyard. I now lived in the city as an adult and days of being in the backyard with my dad were long gone and so was he. He passed on a couple of years earlier. I wasn’t some grown woman looking for someone to replace my daddy but, being out here with Aaron in this moment gave me a good feeling. It was comforting and he had such a warm spirit.

We met on a singles meet dating app about five months prior to us meeting tonight. We had long talks over the phone. We texted each other every day all throughout the day. I was beginning to realize that he was very caring but he did appear to be very busy. He was a construction site manager. I worked as a manager as well at a retail clothing store.

I was telling him how I used to burn wood and leaves with my dad and he came over to help me break apart one of the branches that he saw me struggling with a little bit. He grabbed the branch and when he did, his hand touched mine and we looked at each other. Our eyes locked and a warm feeling came over me. We kissed. It was a long and passionate kiss. I believe that neither of us had kissed another person in quite some time because the branch was soon back on the ground. It never made it to the fire.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.