Humans logo

When the World Goes Dark

Different Lives

By Kelsey J MorrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

You know, the world isn't built for night owls. Often I find myself tiptoeing around my house late at night doing the things that 'normal people' do during the day. Not that the tiptoeing helps, seems as though everyone I live with just happens to be a light sleeper. Also if you are someone who likes to order out because of convenience and also to diversity your meals well tough luck, oddly enough ordering food or sitting in a cafe at three in the morning is virtually impossible, unless it's a weekend and the place you wanna try takes advantage of the party crowd, this is even harder since we've moved to the boonies. Anyways, things that seem to just work so much better when the world goes dark and I am left to do the quiet and my brain isn't overwhelmed. Something that none of my family seems understand, apparently day time functionality is something that just comes easy to people, who knew? Some of my favorite late night productive activities include laundry, reading, running, eating my meals for the day, catching up on all of the latest binge worthy shows, drawing, the list goes on but those are my top hits. I mean really, just take what you do during the day a plop it into my nighttime timetable. I've tried the whole force yourself to be a morning person thing but unfortunately it just doesn't work like that. They've even done research on it, you are one or the other and that's that, you are stuck in an empty pit of being on your own and living on a different planet then the other people in your life. That made it sound worse then it is, it really isn't all that bad, but sometimes you just get lonely. Especially when you live on in a farmhouse a good 20 minutes from the city, sometimes it's just a little too quiet for my personal liking, my family just moved out here 6 months ago and I am still not used to the stillness of farm life. That being said I do love being able to see the stars every single night, a luxury that city people do not know. My parents decided to ship us out here because they decided city life is just too easy, they want us to learn some responsibility, to make things with our own two hands, and to make a giant garden as a family like their parents did with them. I appreciate the sentiment one hundred percent, I agree that things do come almost too easy now a days however I did not love the idea of moving to somewhere that if a murderer decides to come kill you and your family there is no one around to hear you scream or a door to knock on that could save your life. That's just the over thinker in me though. If I was really worried I mean, I would not be going for midnight runs up and down our one and a half mile long road. One night after my run I nearly had a heart attack when I heard something fall in our red barn, but being the brave human I am I decided to go investigate. When I swung open the door I was surprised to suddenly see some sort of night owl flying straight at my face. I fell backwards and honestly thought I bruised my tail bone but then just laughed to myself 'one night owl scaring the other.' I am definitely the comedian of the family. Now I often look for the night owl, knowing that they are the only other being on this farm that understands me.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.