Humans logo

When My Faith Wavers

Thank You

By Tayla BennettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I sometimes do grocery delivery with a company called "Shipt". I'm sure some of you have heard of it as they're growing fast and very popular in the South.

One particularly rough day, I was delivering groceries to a lady. We had a funny little exchange through messages because almost everything she wanted was out at Target where she'd chosen to pick her groceries up from. I offered to go to a different store for her as she was my only customer and I had the time to do so. I felt bad that so much of her order wasn't available.

I spent over an hour at Target. They had a ton of other things they had on their list too that I was luckily able to find, and although I wasn't supposed to, I had my son with me and he was starting to throw a fit as he's only 3 and at that time he was about two and a half.

She assured me not to worry about it and that they already had someone else getting the leftovers from another store. So I get to her house and I didn't have to carry anything in at all which surprised me. Usually shipt drivers are to carry up the groceries and other items to the door and leave them. I was definitely thankful because I had a hard time figuring out exactly which house was hers as there was two side by side and the same color with no house number. She asked if she could pray over me and I thought, well sure. I thought that was really sweet. I'm not expressly religious. My faith wavers often because of my own trials and past situations. And I won't say this situation was godly intervention, but I let her pray over me and she brought my baby some snacks and a juice which I thought was the sweetest thing, but then, on top of it all she tipped me 200.00. Yes, that's two-hundred-dollars. And I cried. And she held me. And I told her a little bit of my struggles. About how I was a single mom and wasn't supposed to have my son with me, but I really didn't have a choice. She was so caring, so sweet and she prayed for me and I didn't have to work the rest of that day.

Her tip enabled me to take a break for the day. I went home with my son and bought him a happy meal and was brightened by that day. I hope she knows I'll never forget her and I hope she knows how thankful I am for what she did that day.

Because of her, my job performance improved too. I am already willing to go above and beyond for my customers, but even if it means running back out now, I would. Not because I expect a huge tip like she gave, but because it makes my customers feel appreciated which makes me feel great. Sometimes, helping others is all you can do when times get so tough that you’re down on yourself. Things can seem so overwhelming and troublesome but there is someone out there who could use your kind words or your help.

I make it a point to help people when I can. I donate what little I’m able. I help my friends and family when they need it. I do what I can to pay it forward. Right now, I can’t give anyone a 200.00 tip, but if I could, I would. One of my goals in life is to get to that point where I can do that. I want to make someone’s day the way she made mine. I want to give someone a little bit of hope. We all get so distracted with all of the negative and forget that there is still good in the world.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Tayla Bennett

I'm a 30 year old single mom who has been through some shit. I want to share my experiences with other people. It would be nice to meet like-minded people and see how they handled similar situations. The stories I write are true.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.