Humans logo

What's Your Love Language? Does Love Language Have to Match?

is there a right and wrong love language?

By Elle LunakPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
*NOT MY PHOTO*

Does your S/O give you the attention you feel you need? Well I would hope so because if you just answered that with a no, I fear then you may have some reanalyzing to do! Of course, if we are with the right person we feel loved, safe, and satisfied. My question however is not if you feel you have been getting the attention you feel you need but are you getting attention from your S/O in the way you need/want it? Do your love languages match? Is it a problem if they don't?

Now this isn't to get anyone in trouble, or make you question if the love you both share is really true (if you are there may be some deeper issues) because trust me, your S/O loves you! With everything going on the world, and with so much free time on my own hands I just decided to let my mind wonder and for my first blog/article/thoughts my mind went to the question at hand.

Let me give you an example of what I mean. I love my boyfriend very much, and he loves me! We tell each other EVERY day (trust me our texts are those kinds of texts where we leave the house to go to work and in two minutes we are saying how much we miss each other... it's almost disgustingly cute or maybe to some just disgusting) but there are things I enjoy doing to show my love and affection that he does not! I love to snap pictures whenever I can with him! I love to post them all over my social medias and tag him because I know this man is the love of my life and I just want the world to know that!

He, on the other hand, doesn't feel the need to do the same. He takes pictures with me, don't get me wrong. He just saves them for himself, he doesn't feel he needs the worlds attention for me to know his love for me. I enjoy buying him things just because! I see something I know he might like, so I get it for him! Food, clothes, shoes, candy... just anything I see I think he may like I grab it! He doesn't do this as often for me as I do for him. Do I feel less loved? Of course not, because I know he still loves me, he just shows his love in differently than I do!

Do love languages have to match, I personally don't think so... But are there love language deal breakers? Can someones love language be to much and I think yes. I think this happens when you just aren't with the right person. I had one relationship I was in (for far too long) where his love language and how he showed me love just annoyed me! I would walk in from work and just get immediate hugs and kisses. I'd think "JESUS can I just get in the house and set my stuff down and have a second?!" It would irritate me and annoy me and started to cause resentment (I know.. resentment for being loved)?! With the man I'm with now, we do some of the same things to each other and it never annoys me! In fact I can't get enough immediate love from him when I walk through the door or vice versa!

Bottom line, I don't think love language has to be the same and in the end it all comes down to just being with the right person! I think if my boyfriend now did everything the same for me that I do for him it would actually get boring... are there times I wish he did speak my love language more? Sure, I have days... but is it a deal breaker for me and I feel the need to run out and try to be with someone new? Nope! It just took some trial and errors with past S/Os to really realize it never was about how they showed their love... just that it all had to be with the right person. I'm only one person with one POV.. what's yours?

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.