Humans logo

What's Up With that Finger Anyway?

Ramblings of an Admitted Insomniac

By Sassy Lady Ava GPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I have never heard any discussions or theories so since it has been on my mind I am going to just put it out there.

Do not ask me why I have questions such as this. It does not really even need an answer. It is just a minuscule view into the randomness that is nearly always in my brain; however, the wee hours of the morning randomness seems to run especially ramped. (say that three times fast =D )

So, whether you flip the bird, give the finger, tell someone to read between the lines (with three fingers raised), or flip people off.. first of all what do all these things even mean?

Flipping the bird.. I did read a little about this (I'm not totally ignorant)

"...may be relevant although it makes no mention of the hand gesture. To give someone the bird is "to dismiss [him], send him about his business . . . late C. 19-20. [From] the theatre . . . In Australia, 'give the bird' is to treat with derision: from before 1916." In obsolete theatrical usage (Partridge gives a date of 1883), "the bird" is defined as "a hissing of an actor," from the sound made by geese."

Giving the finger...

you could give any finger..

why is it that the middle finger carries so much weight and who decided that anyway?

You can give someone a thumbs up, a thumbs down, point at them (usually followed by snickers, sarcasm, or some sort of profound judgement on the pointer's part), put a ring on it, and pinky swear and the only thing that gets you in a heap of trouble (usually) is showing off your middle finger in a solitary salute.

Flipping people off... what exactly does that mean? And would it be better or worse if you flipped people ON? Flip them off, off of what? I-Yi-Yi

There are two distinct sides to this whole thing...wait, I take that back-three sides.

First let me speak about the giver of the finger:

Why is it that you feel so elated, justified, released, relieved, calmed and comforted like a HUGE weight has just been lifted just by smacking your middle finger up against the glass of the car door or flipping someone off very quickly, in public, for various reasons? Really.. why does not the hand language for "Sissy, sissy, shame, shame" have the same effect? In all seriousness [HA] and in many cases I think that bubbling, boiling, red-hot anger comes to a complete halt, after you have flipped someone off.. and they probably did not even see you do it.. and if they did not see you do it why is it that you STILL feel so much better? (I would NOT know anything about the subject matter I am just taking educated guesses here.)

Then there is the receiver of the finger:

Some find it freaking hilarious while others are insulted as if you just said something bad about their mamma. What is up with that? Why do we get so irate, insulted and pissed off, ready to go postal when someone gives us the finger? It is JUST a finger! Who gave this one finger so much authority?Who decided that it means "F*ck You?" Again, it is JUST a finger.

Finally, there are the innocent bystanders: i.e. Your holier than thou's, frigid fogies, young children ...you get the picture.

These folks were simply minding their own business, drinking in the sunshine, when as if you had mooned them they were horrified by the sight of that oh so authoritative finger--

that is except for the kiddies.

No, they are not horrified at all. It is much worse. They are MYSTIFIED! What is this grand gesture they saw the stranger in the food court use, that caused such a ruckus and how do I get my fingers to do that? How can I embarrass my parents IN THE CHURCH or SYNAGOGUE with this attention-receiving, magic finger? Oi-Vey

I really have no idea why it carries so much weight, but I think I will piss off the next person who gives me the finger by smiling broadly or laughing at them. Perhaps it will make them feel ten times more heated than they did when they flipped me off or when they thought they would agitate me by... flipping me the bird.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Sassy Lady Ava G

Poet, Songwriter, Parody writer and performer, Grammar tyrant, Cre8v by nature, here to hone my skills.

Ask for additional details...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.