Humans logo

What's Keeping Us Alive

After loving the wrong way ...

By Caitlin FladagerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
11

My husband and I have been loving each other wrong. For the past ten years, we have been loving each other, the wrong way.

A few weeks ago, him and I went out for dinner. He was distracted by his phone a lot, and other people around us. I got a little upset. “How could he not know how important date nights are to me? How could he not know that I crave one-on-one attention sometimes?”

He didn’t understand why that was such a big deal to me, and why I was so upset. I tried explaining it in a way I thought he may understand, but he didn’t. So I left it alone.

A few days after that, I had been having a lazy day. I didn’t really do much of the dishes, so the sink was piling up.

No big deal, I thought to myself. I’ll take care of it tomorrow.

My husband got home, looked in the sink, and was a little upset that there was now a growing pile of dishes.

I looked at him and said “I’m sorry, but it’s not that big of a deal. I’m home tomorrow, I’ll do it then.”

Then, like I had tried to explain to him, why I was upset about not having one on one attention last week at dinner, he tried to explain why the dishes made him feel not very appreciated, or loved.

I looked at him and said “How can dirty dishes make you feel unloved?”

He looked at me and said “Well, how can me, looking down at my phone for a quick second at dinner, make you feel unloved?”

I looked at him, as I started thinking.

I was thinking that we were loving each other in the wrong ways. In the ways where we think our love is being clearly shown, but to each other, it’s not.

Loving someone the way you want to be loved, doesn’t always work. Because everyone sees, and views love differently.

So, we sat on the couch, and we talked, for the first time in ten years.

We talked about how we want to be loved.

What that looks like for us.

Why we need that.

What it feels like.

I discovered that my husband feels the most loved, when I do things to help him - like putting away the dishes, or helping him out when he needs it.

He learned that I view love as quality time.

I feel the most loved when we spend time together. For example, when we go out to dinner and his attention is solely on me, I feel seen and loved.

I looked at him and said “Have we really been loving each other wrong, this whole time?”

After ten years together, my husband and I finally learned how we need to love each other.

So, as I got up, I walked to the kitchen, and started putting the dishes away. My husband walked up, grabbed the stereo, and said “Let’s wash them together.”

Quality time, and helping each other, in one.

We’re slowly learning to show how we love each other, in different ways, together.

After ten years, we now know how to properly love each other.

Because loving someone the way you want to be loved, doesn’t always work.

My husband and I view love so differently, but you know what? I think we’re going to be okay.

We’re going to be okay, because I know how to love him properly. In a way where he feels it in his soul.

And as for me, well, let’s just say I have a one on one date with my husband tonight, and no phones.

dating
11

About the Creator

Caitlin Fladager

Mother | Wife | Mental Health Advocate

Telling my "Reel" truth about marriage & motherhood on Instagram, Facebook, Tiktok & Vocal

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tarol A. Jackson2 years ago

    Loved this reminder. Thank you for sharing

  • Nicole kamholz2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing this! My husband and I have had a hard time showing love for each other so thank uou!

  • Tracy Willis2 years ago

    Another great article. I really look forward to reading these every time I see that you have been published. Thank you so much for sharing your life with us!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.