Humans logo

What’s happened to the world?

An international trip brings the problems of daily life to a head

By Spencer HawkenPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
Like
What’s happened to the world?
Photo by David Jusko on Unsplash

Ive just spent the most wonderful week in Switzerland, in my 10 day trip I took note of how clean the places I went were, how much better behaved the people that lived there were, how peaceful it was even on a busy day. I enjoyed this break from the normal, before returning back to my everyday life.

I’d not got back to the UK when it started, at the airport en route back to good old Blighty (that aint so good I tell you), there was the inevitable queue crush, as self entitled individuals pushed there way in and out of the queue at the boarding gate to suit their purpose. As we board our flight we hear the familiar tones of “you don’t have speedy boarding, speedy boarders join the flight first” to the reply “what ya mean I don’t have speedy boarding, do you know how much I paid for this flight? I wanna talk to your supervisor!” It’s nice to go home, especially after a lovely trip, it takes your mind somewhere else, but this kind of altercation just brings you down with a thump.

By Sushil Nash on Unsplash

Back on the ground the other side, people crash into you with their suitcases. Literally push you out of the way to get through security first. A few of them end up stuck somehow, I look back and smile, maybe give a virtual wave to them while thinking in the nicest of ways “that will teach you dickhead”.

The train back home was uneventful, 4 different homeless people dropped by to tell their story of homelessness to a carriage that tries to ignore them. I rarely carry cash, I also am concerned over which ones of these are genuine, which are smack-heads, how did they get on the train in the first place?

Back home, to the one I love and my dog Bub. There is much sleep to be had, before a brand new day.

I’ve booked a few days off to chill out before returning to work, so my first task is to take Bub on a longer morning walk, we pass by rubbish on the floor, then on the side of a peaceful piece of road I see the huge pile of rubbish, someone has fly tipped this, huge boxes of nothing, presumably filled with parts of a fitted kitchen, now dumped on the side of the road to rot. My mind takes me back exactly two years, I’d then again returned from an international trip, to discover in this same location a pile of fully grown dead dogs. A friend had a theory that travellers had used them for dog fights, their bodies were mauled, disgusting and pouring with maggots. As I crossed over the road, I was reminded of the time I stumbled across a carrier bag of dead ducks, what were the circumstances of their death?

By Antoine GIRET on Unsplash

My partners not so good at looking after herself while I’m away, she overdoses on coffee and forgets to eat. I look in the cupboards, there’s nothing new there since before I went away. I figure I need to head into town to get food, which I do, again my encounter includes a series of self entitled souls, shouting the odds at staff because they don’t have their favourite beer in a 36 pack.

There is the series of Ill fitting outfits “as worn by the Kardashian’s” however this time worn by people that are 8 times the size of the largest Kardashian. I don’t like to judge really, but do these people not have mirrors? I live in a place called Essex, it’s a county of great divides, but certainly one of the richer counties in the UK, where I live, unemployment is so low, they closed the job centre. I don’t know a should that doesn’t work, well maybe those that are retired. This Kardashian style has been recreated by every cheap shop and market stall and women wanting to achieve that look have flocked to it in droves, with so much visible thong it makes my toes curl.

As paying for my goods a lady looks to me and says “do you have a Nectar card?” Yes I reply. ‘If I use your Nectar card, you get my points and I get these Happy Hippos for free” anything for the Happy Hippos I reply. In that split second I get to see how nice life can truly be.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Back to work, there’s a mix of antisocial behaviour, kids removed from public places, self entitled staff bitter because someone asked them to do their job. A rumour circulating that a group of kids are going to swoop down to Londons Oxford Street en masse and loot all the big ticket stores, this spread off the back of a Tik Tok post. Sure enough 100s of kids, mainly from “ethnic minorities” STOP! This is not me being racist, I am a product of a mixed race relationship, while I might not look it I am from an ethnic minority. My point in this instance, is why do people that feel they are persecuted because of race always at the centre of hell? I watched the news reports, not one white face in all that’s going down. Why?

The middle of the week, I have to do a small awards ceremony at a function of a couple of hundred people. The awards last literally 8 minutes, yet three times I have to stop to tell the audience to stop talking. On the final occasion, despite the fact I have dignitaries there I tell people to “shut the fuck up” that gets their attention.

Where has society gone that I have to result to expletives to get people to be quiet, that animals are discarded like trash worse still bred into a life with no love, or affection only to end up dead on the side of the road. Where children have no respect for authority figures, they take what they want because they can?

I put so much of what is happening currently down to Covid, because for two years people were locked away for vast swathes of time, emerging entitled to more from life because they’ve had a tough couple of years, I wonder if this happened after the second world war. This combined with current economic crisis has turned the world into a place I want no part of. All while questioning, if they can get it right in southern Switzerland, why can’t we? They went through the same things as us, maybe even worse, yet their children have manners, nothing is vandalised and even graffiti is limited to a small selection of buildings as if permission has been given to create art on those and those buildings alone. Different ethnicities seem to co-habit in harmony and on the employment front even cleaners can earn up to $30,000 a year. On top of that, it appears they have nice clean air and nowhere is far away from lush, clean country environments.

I’d love to know what the intention is behind this piece, I lack the mindset to turn it into something that leads to positive outcome, all I know is that in someway I needed to address the things I experience going from one world back to another. In order to mentally put my thoughts to something in the hope that someone relates to what I’m saying.

Does this ever happen to you?

travelhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Spencer Hawken

I'm a fiftysomething guy with a passion for films, travel and gluten free food. I work in property management, have a history in television presentation and am a multi award wining filmmaker, even though my films are/were all trash.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.