Humans logo

What It's Like Being a Main Chick

All the ups and downs of "main chickery."

By drkennyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
What It's Like Being a Main Chick
Photo by Paige Cody on Unsplash

Hello every'all! This is Roshanda and I'm here to say that I'm doing a follow up to my side chick story.

Because it got a decent amount of views and I feel like I didn't go into detail about a couple of things.

And I bet you're wondering about what happened to Shaun. Well, I saw on the local news program that he ended up in jail for illegal substance use or something. Also, Lo'Quandrea was on the news too for using his crack so there's that mess. There's also a ratchet girl outside saying "I didn't do it! Y'all cops are just thirsty!" or something.

This is just the kind of crap that happens in Chicago for whatever reason. At least where I live.

Speaking of where I live, it is a ghetto. My relatives call it a "nice ghetto" but a ghetto is still a ghetto.

And I still have Shaun's little black contact book, and when I call the numbers different people respond. So I'm not sure what's going on with that.

Without further ado, I should talk about my new boyfriend! For privacy reasons, I will be calling him James. I know it's too late to change things since I've already revealed that my name is Roshanda and my ex is Shaun, but I'll just call him James anyway because I don't want to implicate him into the "shenanigans" that happen in my life.

But you guys will probably just Google the news about Shaun anyway and discover his identity but like I said.

Too late. Plus I'm afraid if I delete my previous Vocal story then I will lose my views.

Anyway, I met James on online. Which is also the same way I met Shaun, by the way.

We chatted and he said that he works at Starbucks a mile away from where I live, and that I could meet up with him there whenever. So I drove over, and then I walked inside. It was a bit chilly, so I ordered a vanilla bean frappuccino. I mean, it was hot outside, so I ordered...

I went to the cash register and purchased my drink. I expected to see James but it was this blonde white girl. I waited for about 30 minutes and still no James. So I went to the counter and asked the blonde if I James was here.

She said James's shift didn't start until night.

So he duped me??

I sent him a text and asked him why he lied. Then he said that he forgot to tell me.

When I found out I was a side chick and the absolute trainwreck Shaun was, I took a break from dating. For a few months. The main reason I took a break was because I didn't trust guys anymore.

So when James said that he forgot–

At that moment I wished that I didn't resume dating after all, and that I should just meet people in real life.

Of course, I didn't lash out on him. That would be so uncivilized. I just said something along of the lines of "Okay lol" and told him I'm going home.

He didn't try to stop me, so I figured he had a side chick or something to accompany him.

The next day, I went to the Starbucks because he said that he would arrive early, and I reluctantly agreed. What if he didn't arrive?!

He wasn't there, and I was just about to ask why does he always lie, but then.

Then.

He walked inside.

Technically, he didn't lie, but I arrived before him so... he didn't arrive early after all.

But that wasn't the problem. He was there, and it made me happy.

He ordered me a grande coffee (I wanted it), and we talked and talked and talked and he said that we should go out for dinner on Presidents' Day or something.

This was before corona, by the way. So I thought why not.

He said that he liked anime, The Good Place, cheese fries, Tyler Perry movies...

I wasn't really paying attention. Since I didn't care about those things. And I still don't.

On Presidents' Day, we went to Olive Garden. My choice. We had a good time and cracked jokes. He said we could watch that Dave Chappelle special at his place, and I was enthusiastic because I love Dave Chappelle.

Nothing special happened after that, because he and I always had to work. We talked every now and then but those conversations went stale.

We used to talk about what's going to happen in the next episode of (x TV show), but now that just fell down to "hi."

So being a main chick isn't interesting at all. At least with Shaun, he was a crackhead.

That's what I was thinking at the time. Now I enjoy being with James a lot more because he was saving up money for us to go on a trip to Norweigan fjords and wanted to keep it a surprise. We also met up with the most racist girl, so that's going to be a fun story.

Well.

I'll tell that story another day, because I'm getting tired and there are cops outside arresting the local ratchet and somehow they discovered I'm acquainted with her and now they are banging on the door and I need to go and answer some questions.

(from drkenny) this is fiction and https://vocal.media/filthy/what-it-s-like-being-a-side-chick is the first part and I didn't expect to get a lot(?) (I'm not sure what a lot of views is in Vocal terms) of views in a day! I got 20 views when I checked the statistics.

breakups
2

About the Creator

drkenny

I'm really sorry for the inactivity, but I really did love Vocal!

Thank you very much. Please buy the Vocal premium! It's worth it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.