Humans logo

What is Love?

The definition of love is different in every situation and for every person.

By Heather HenkesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Love is kind and trust. Love is compromise. Love is unconditional. There are many types of love. Love for your children is never ending and doing anything in order to keep them safe. Love for your partner is trusting them to do what they want and trusting them to think of you or your relationship. Love for your friends is unconditional supporting. Love for your family is just plain unconditional. They raised you and made you who you are today. Love for your family is taking advantage of the fact that they will always be there, because no matter what, they love and support you. Love is realizing you are taking advantage of them and finding a way to say thank you and show your appreciation.

Love is emotional and love is hard. Love is work. Every great relationship, no matter if it a child, a friend, a partner, or a member of your family, requires work from both parties. Love is not easy and if you have been lucky enough to find it in any of these ways, tell your child, your partner, tell your friends, your mom, your dad, your brother and/or your sister. Tell that special person that you love them. Love is not blind and love is not cruel. Love is not violent and love is not control.

I thought I found love once. My partner did not trust me. He wanted to control every aspect of me. He told me who I could and could not hang out with, where I could and could not go. It took too long, but I eventually realized that I was not the untrustworthy and damaged one. He was the untrustworthy and damaged one.

Drugs make a person not capable of that love. Love runs deep and drugs cut that connection away. Drugs take over the mind of the user until that person no longer has control. Without any control, the user feels the need to control their partner, or the special person that they once loved. They now feel the need to watch that person's every move, think that person is out to get them along with the rest of the world. If you or someone you know is a recovering addict, make sure to talk to someone. If you feel the need to use, trust in your partner for support. If you feel the need, go to a meeting or seek help from someone that you trust. Do not turn back to the drug, because it breaks that trust, therefore, breaking that beautiful thing we call love. It takes control of your mind, changing it, breaking the ability to truly love another person. Drugs break that unconditional love and trust.

Love is special and should not be taken for granted. When it is taken for granted, it should be realized and fixed. To my three beautiful daughters, I love you more than words can ever describe. To my mom, I love you even though sometimes we want to rip each other's hair out. Thank you for everything you have done for me and my children. To my dad and my step mom, all I need to say is I love you and thank you. You already know how much I appreciate and love both of you. To my brothers, I love you both. Everything both of you have done to help me, know that it is appreciated and I will find a way to repay you one day. To any friends that I may still have left, I love you for being there for me when I needed you. Thank you, all of you. Lastly, to my partner now, I love you more than life itself and there is not one thing in this world that I would not do for you. You and our children are my reason for living, for breathing today. Each and every person that I love in my own special way, you are special, and I would not change any part of any of you.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.